Selected Electronic Reference Works
Bloomsbury Cultural History
Surveys common subjects throughout human history. Each Cultural History is divided into volumes by time period: Antiquity, The Middle Ages, Early Modern Age, The Age of Enlightenment, The Age of Empire, and The Modern Age.
Dizionario biografico degli Italiani
From Treccani, a good source of national biographical information. (Open Access)
Encyclopedia of Literature
Part of Gale's Literature Resource Center, this site offers a searchable encyclopedia of authors; works; literary landmarks; literary and critical terms; mythological and folkloric figures; fictional characters; literary movements; prizes; etc. Click on the "Dictionaries" link to limit your search to the encyclopedia. (NetID Restricted)
Feminism in Literature: A Gale Critical Companion
"This six-volume set explores the history of women and feminism throughout literature, from classical antiquity to modern times. Topics covered include misogyny and women's social roles in ancient civilizations, 16th-century women's devotional literature, 17th- and 18th-century women's captivity narratives, the women's suffrage movement in 19th-century America, women writers of the Lost Generation," lesbian literature, and much more." (NetID Restricted)
History of Italy: Primary Documents
An information resource from Brigham Young University organized by historical period. (Open Access)
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Medieval Studies
Annotated bibliographies by scholars in medieval studies. (NetID Restricted)
Oxford Bibliographies Online: Renaissance & Reformation
Annotated bibliographies by scholars in Renaissance and Reformation Studies. (NetID Restricted)
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
Part of the Literature Online database, the Encyclopedia is a comprehensive reference work dealing with all aspects of its subject: history, types, movements, prosody, and critical terminology. (NetID Restricted)
Reference Guide to World Literature
"Contains biographical and critical essays on authors from throughout the world, as well as essays covering specific work or works of an author, with criticism and analysis of those works." Electronic version of the 2 volume 3rd edition of the print resource. (NetID Restricted)
Dictionaries
Online
Dizionario italiano multimediale e multilingue d'ortografia e di pronunzia
Tesoro della lingua Italiana delle Origini
Vocabolario degli accademici della Crusca
Collins Italian dictionary. PC1640.C38 2005
I dialetti italiani : dizionario etimologico. PC1761.C66 1998
Dizionario combinatorio compatto Italiano. PC1625.L6 2012
Garzanti : i grandi dizionari : Italiano. PC1625.G77 2002
Il vocabolario Treccani. Sinonimi e contrari. PC1591.V63 2003
Il vocabolario Treccani. Il visuale, italiano-inglese. PC1629.V63 2003
General Reference
Gale Virtual Reference Library (NetID Restricted)
Literature Resource Center (NetID Restricted)
Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (NetID Restricted)
Sage eReference Encyclopedias (NetID Restricted)
World Biographical Index (NetID Restricted)
Selected Print Reference for Italian Studies
Dictionary of Italian literature. PQ4006.D45 1996
Dizionario biografico degli Italiani. 100 vols. DG463.D58
Enciclopedia degli autori italiani. PQ4006.E53 2004
Enciclopedia Zanichelli : dizionario enciclopedico di arti, scienze, tecniche, lettere, filosofia, storia, geografia, diritto, economia. AE35.E54 2000
Manuale critico-bibliografico per lo studio della letteratura italiana. PQ4037.B2 2002
The Oxford companion to Italian literature. PQ4006.O84 2002
Scritti storici di donne italiane : bibliografia 1800-1945. Z2354.W65C37 2003
Subject Headings
Only selected dictionaries, encyclopedias and bibliographies are presented here. To find other reference works in the Libraries' collections, try a subject search using one of the following headings. Use QuickSearch--Advanced to search by subject. Click on the dropdown menu to change your search parameter to Subject.
- Italian language--Dialects--Dictionaries
- Italian language--Dictionaries--English
- Italian language--Etymology--Dictionaries
- Italian literature--Dictionaries
There are many other ways to refine your search. Ask for help using email or chat!