Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

American Studies: Research Seminar: Ethnicity, Race, and Gender in Popular Culture

Bibliographies

Projecting Ethnicity and Race: An Annotated Bibliography of Studies on Imagery in American Film.
Marsha J. Hamilton and Eleanor S. Block. Westport, Conn., Praeger Publishers, 2003.
Dana Call Number: PN1995.9 .M56.H36 2003
African Americans in the Movies: A Bibliography of Materials in the UC Berkeley Library
Partially annotated bibliography of books and articles.
Arabs in Film and Television: A Bibliography of Materials in the UC Berkeley Library
Annotated bibliography.
Chicanos/Latinos in the Movies: A Bibliography of Materials in the UC Berkeley Library
Partially annotated bibliography of books and articles.

Cruel and Unusual: Negative Images of Arabs in American Popular Culture
Laurence Michalak. 3rd edition. Washington, DC: American-Arab Anti-Discrimination Committee (ADC) Research Institute, 1988. ERIC ED 363 532.
While Michalak touches on the treatment of Arabs in other venues (songs, jokes, television, political cartoons and comics), the main focus is on depiction in films.

Gays, Lesbian and Transgendered People in Motion Pictures: A Bibliography of Materials in the UC Berkeley Library

Filmographies

The Movies, Race, and Ethnicity: African Americans
Annotated filmography from the Media Resources Center, UC Berkeley. For some films includes selected reviews and articles.
The Movies, Race, and Ethnicity: Images of Arabs and the Middle East
Annotated filmography from the Media Resources Center, UC Berkeley. For some films includes selected reviews and articles.
The Hispanic Image on the Silver Screen: An Interpretive Filmography From Silents into Sound, 1898-1935
Alfred Charles Richard. New York, Greenwood Press, 1992.
Rutgers Call Number: ALEX, ROBESON PN1998 .R54 1992
Censorship and Hollywood's Hispanic Image: An Interpretive Filmography, 1936-1955
Alfred Charles Richard. Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 1993.
Rutgers Call Number: ALEX PN1995.9 .L37453 1993
Contemporary Hollywood's Negative Hispanic Image: An Interpretive Filmography, 1956-1993
Alfred Charles Richard. Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 1994.
Rutgers Call Number: ALEX, ROBESON, PN1995.9 .L37R54 1994; CARR REF PN1995.9 .L37R54 1994

Finding Other Resources

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective. 1900- .
Index to the major general interest and popular periodicals from the late 19th century to 1982.
Readers' Guide Full Text
Index to the major general interest and popular periodicals from 1983 to the present. Rutgers-restricted Access
MLA International Bibliography  1926- .
The most comprehensive index to journal articles, books, dissertations, and other materials relating to literature, folkore, and film studes. Indexes more than 4400 journals. Rutgers-restricted Access
  •  Searches that you may find useful in MLA include:
    • treatment of african americans
    • treatment of arabs
    • treatment of latin americans
gender Inn: Women's and Gender Studies Database
Index to over 8400 citations pertaining to feminist theory, feminist literary criticism and gender studies focusing on English and American literature.