Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Featured Resource-Implementation of your Legislation
Try searching for Congressional Hearings post-enactment of your public law. These hearings, sometimes called "oversight" hearings provide Congress with information regarding implementation, problems and solutions. Use Congressional Publications: Select only Hearings from the facets on the left and enter the title of your law or keywords in the search box; adjust the dates covered range as well. Search example: (oversight or implementation) AND "energy policy act of 2005"
(A more complete list is here.)
Social Sciences Preminum Collection (ProQuest)
This resource abstracts and indexes over 10,000 titles in the social sciences, while also providing access to over 1,800 scholarly journals. Includes both PAIS INDEX and Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
A legal research collection that features full-text searching of scholarly legal and criminal justice periodicals and related materials such as the Code of Federal Regulations, a Federal Register Library, U.S. Attorney General Opinions, a U.S. Federal Legislative History Library, and U.S. Statutes at Large.
Academic Search Premier
A multidisciplinary database.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary-Indexes major journals in the sciences, social sciences and humanities.
A citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
Searches peer-reviewed papers, dissertations, books, preprints, reports from academic publishers, professional societies, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Tips for Using Quicksearch to Find Books and Articles
- Use AND to combine your concepts, e.g., railroad station AND subway station (AND must be in caps)
- Use OR to combine synonyms, related terms, e.g., transportation OR highway (OR must be in caps)
- Complex/nested search: china AND (urbanization OR urban development)
- Use the * (asterik) to search for the root word and any ending, e.g.,transport* will retrieve transport, transports, transportation, etc.
- To search for an exact phrase, place the phrase in quotation marks, e.g., "energy policy act of 2005"
To Refine Your Result List:
- For Books: on the results list page, from the facets on the left-hand side under "Limit to" select 'Held by Library"
- To specifically find E-books, on the results list page on the left, under "Limit to" select "Available Online", and under "Resource Type" choose "Books"
- For Articles: on the results list page, under "Limit to" select "peer-reviewed journals" and under "Resource Type" choose "Articles"
- See also Refining Results
- Use Advanced Search to limit your search to specific fields, like title, author, or subject and resource type, e.g., books, articles.
Government Analysis/ Research Reports
Government Accountability Office (GAO)
The GAO supports the work of Congress by performing audits and evaluations of government programs and activities. See the Reports and Testimonies tab.
Congressional Budget Office
The CBO provides objective, nonpartisan economic analyses of pending legislation. Under Publications, you can browse by subject.
Congressional Research Service via Congress.gov
Under Browse Databases by Name, select Congressional Documents, then CRS reports
Homeland Security Digital Library
On landing page, enter your search terms, and select CRS reports from pulldown menu on the right.
CRS-Federation of American Scientists
Searchable source of CRS reports-Enter "crs and your topic." Also, many relevant reports will be listed on the "Miscellaneous Topics" page.
CRS-University of North Texas Libraries
Another searchable collection of Congressional Research Service Reports. We also have a microfilm collection of CRS reports-in the Library Catalog, enter the terms "congressional research service and your topic."
Catalog of Government Publications
"This official source is the online counterpart to the Monthly Catalog of United States Government Publications. It covers electronic and print publications from the legislative, executive, and judicial branches of the U.S. government beginning with 1976." Useful for finding reports produced by federal departments and agencies charged with implementing a policy.
Think Tanks, Policy Research Centers, etc.
The Roper Center iPOLL is a compilation of over 500,000 questions from public opinion polls on a broad range of topics, 1935 to present.
Gallup Poll Briefing
Weekly summary/analysis of latest Gallup Poll findings. 2002+
Pew Research Center for the People and the Press
"The Pew Research Center for the People & the Press is an independent, non-partisan public opinion research organization that studies attitudes toward politics, the press and public policy issues." Public opinion surveys back to 1997. See Topics tab.
Polling the Nations
Polling the Nations is a compilation of the full-text of the questions and responses from over 14,000 national, state, and local surveys conducted since 1986 by more than 1,400 polling organizations in the United States and more than 100 other countries.