Skip to main content
Find Articles in Online Indexes and Databases
The following online indexes and databases can be searched to find articles:
Academic Search Premier
A multi-disciplinary, full-text database designed for academic institutions. Useful when the researcher is targeting academic studies from the most important peer-reviewed journals.
America: History and Life
Covers United States and Canadian history and culture from prehistoric times to the present. Over 1,700 journal titles are scanned for relevant articles and book/media reviews of special interest to historians of U.S. and Canadian history and related fields. It provides strong English-language journal coverage balanced by an international perspective on topics and events.
Black Thought and Culture
Offers the full text of non-fiction writing by leading figures in African American life and culture, including Frederick Douglas, W.E.B. Du Bois, Ida Wells, A. Phillip Randolph, Martin Luther King, Jr., Jesse Jackson and hundreds of others.
An interdisciplinary, bilingual (English and Spanish) and comprehensive full text database of newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press. Coverage from 1990.
Hispanic-American Periodicals Index
HAPI contains bibliographic citations and full text from social sciences and humanities journals published in the U.S. and Latin America. information about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the United States, focusing on analyses of current political, cultural, economic, and social issues.
A comprehensive bibliography for material on the history of the world from 1450 to the present. It covers all countries and regions, excluding the United States and Canada (for those countries, see America: History and Life). Coverage includes historical and related social science literature.
Humanities Full Text
Provides full text, page images, abstracts, and bibliographic citations for noted scholarly resources as well as specialized magazines in the humanities.
This index on leftist and radical media contains citations, abstracts and selected text from journal and magazine articles, newsletters, selected books, and Internet documents. The emphasis is on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship inside and outside academia: the labor movement, ecology and environment, race and ethnicity, social and cultural theory, sociology, law, and globalization.
CSA Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines.
Women and Social Movements in the United States
This database seeks to document women's activism in public life by bringing together books, images, documents (including primary documents), scholarly essays, commentaries, bibliographies, and links to other websites.