Skip to main content
Starting Points for Labor & Working-class History on the Web
"Designed for high school and college teachers and students, History Matters serves as a gateway to web resources and offers other useful materials for teaching U.S. history." You can search for labor-related information by the Search function or browsing amongst its many different sections.
Labor History Links
A collection of information, documents and links of U.S. labor history sites on the internet developed by labor history Rosemary Feurer (Northern Illinois University) for the Labor and Working Class History Association.
WWW Virtual Library- Labour and Business History
A comprehensive listing of labor and business history web sites around the world. Look up exhibitions, conferences, journals, organizations, resources.
XPDNC- Labour History Links
"This links hub displays links to help internet users access organized labour resources." Eclectic, organized by country.
The Emma Goldman Papers
A digital library of documents, photographs, selected writings, and other materials related to the life and work of
the famous anarchist and feminist. An extensive, wonderful site.
Freedom of Information Act – Famous People
This site makes available the full text of FBI files, obtained through the FOIA, on John L. Lewis, Cesar Chavez, and
others. (files in Adobe Acrobat)
John L. Lewis Portrait Gallery
Online picture gallery of the UMWA leader.
Lucy Parsons: Woman of Will
Biography (mainly text) of the 19th century anarchist and labor organizer; part of the Boston IWW site.
Mary Harris Jones (Mother Jones) - FemBio
Mother Jones was active in the United Mine Workers and a founding member of the International Workers of the World (Wobblies). Here is a page-long biography of her by Sarah K. Horsley, part of the FemBio database.
The Samuel Gompers Papers
The web counterpart to a long-term project dedicated to publishing primary documents on working-class history.
Includes a biography of Gompers, quotes, timeline, photo gallery, digital copies of letters and newspaper articles.
The Autobiography of Mother Jones - LibriVox
The Autobiography of Mother Jones is in the public domain, so it is available free on the Internet. This website offers audiofiles of a reading of the book, plus links to text files.
Labor History Listservs
H-labor is a bulletin board for labor history researchers and teachers. Messages focus on conference announcements, books reviews, and teaching resources. You do not need to subscribe in order to read past messages.
'A place for historians, labor activists, and artists to discuss the cultural and artistic artifacts of working people." You do not need to subscribe to read past discussion logs.
A network for scholars and professionals active in studies related to oral history, affiliated with the Oral History Association and H-net Online. Do you not need to subscribe to read discussion logs.
Discussion Lists, WWW Virtual Library Labour History
A listing of history and social science discussion lists around the world.
The American Labor Museum
"The American Labor Museum is housed in the Botto House National Landmark...It was the meeting place for over 20,000 silk mill workers during the 1913 Paterson Silk Strike."
"The American Labor Museum advances public understanding of the history and contemporary issues of work, workers and thend the labor movement throughout the world, with special attention to the ethnicity and immigrant experience of American workers."
Colorado Coal Field War Project
A project by the University of Denver and the Colorado Historical Society, chronicling the 1913-14 Colorado Coal Strike by the United Mine Workers of America.
Labor & the Holocaust: The Jewish Labor Committee and the Anti-Nazi Struggle
Online exhibit based on records of the Jewish Labor Committee. Beautifully presented, this web site balances text with graphics of posters, headlines, and photographs.
The Haymarket Digital Collection
"This digital collection contains copies of most of the original manuscripts, artifacts, broadsides, photographs, and prints owned by the Chicago Historical Society (CHS) that relate to the Haymarket Affair and were contemporary with it."
The History of Labor Day (DOL)
A brief history of Labor Day from the U.S. Dept. of Labor.
The Sacco & Vanzetti Trial
Part of the Famous Trial series from University of Missouri-Kansas City Law School, this is a very informative site. Includes biographies of participants, background on "the red scare", speeches and evidence from the trial, appeal decisions, and a link to the FBI files on the case.
The Triangle Shirtwaist Factory Fire
Excellent multimedia site mounted by the Kheel Center; history text, photographs, documents, oral histories
(audio to be added), cartoons, research guide for high school students.