Skip to main content
Historical Maps of New Jersey
Most of the map images on these webpages are from Rutgers Special Collections.
The New Jersey Digital Highway
A collection of guides, links, and documents relating to New Jersey now and then.
New Jersey Geneology
Most of the genealogical materials at Rutgers can be found in the Libraries' department of Special Collections and Archives which is housed in the Alexander Library in New Brunswick. Available material includes transcriptions of family Bible records, gravestone inscriptions, church records, papers and genealogical compilations on New Jersey families, and many other printed materials.
The New Jersey Historical Commission
“An agency of the Department of State, the Commission was created by law in 1967 to advance public knowledge of the history of New Jersey. Its website includes a calendar of events, listings of publications and online publications, an extensive history guide, special projects, grants and prizes, and links to other New Jersey history resources on the Internet.”
The New Jersey Historical Society
Homepage of the Society.
"The New Jersey Historical Society is a state-wide, private, non profit historical museum, library, and archives dedicated to collecting, preserving, and interpreting the rich and intricate political, social, cultural and economic history of New Jersey to the broadest possible audiences."
New Jersey Register of Historic Places
New Jersey’s listing from the National Register of Historic Places. Sites meet the New Jersey and National Register criteria for significance in American history, archaeology, architecture, engineering or culture.
The New Jersey State Archives
“The State's official repository for all public records of colonial and state government, The New Jersey State Archives has a newly renovated facility with access to wonderful documents and microfilm pertaining to the history of New Jersey government and politics. A great repository for students, local historians and genealogists with resources such as vital records, wills, land deeds, newspapers, maps, and much more.”
The Newark Preservation & Landmarks Committee
Offers a complete list of the Newark sites as documented on the National and New Jersey Registers of Historic Places.
Old New Brunswick
This site is a companion to an exhibition that was in Rutgers' Alexander Library, May 3 - August 31, 2002.
Working in Paterson: Occupational Heritage in an Urban Setting
“Presents 470 interview excerpts and 3882 photographs from the Working in Paterson Folklife Project of the American Folklife Center at the Library of Congress. ”
Rutgers NJ History Resources
Books on NJ Labor History