Research Guides: Human Diversity: Gender and Sexuality

Encyclopedias

SAGE Encyclopedia of LGBTQ Studies: Abbie Goldberg, editor. Thousand Oaks, Calif., SAGE Publications, 2016.; Substantive scholarly articles on LGBTQ issues in a social sciences framework. Rutgers-restricted Access

LGBT: Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America: New York, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004. 3 vols.; More than 500 scholarly entries on LGBT identities, communities, cultures, movements, and issues. Rutgers-restricted Access

American Masculinities: A Historical Encyclopedia: Bret E. Carroll, editor. Thousand Oaks, Calif., Sage Publications, 2004.; "A reference guide and an introduction to the many ways in which men have defined, imagined, and experienced male identity in the social, cultural, and political contexts of the United States.” 258 signed entries with bibliography. Rutgers-restricted Access

Encyclopedia of Women and Gender : Sex Similarities and Differences and the Impact of Society on Gender: San Diego, Calif.:Academic, c2001. 2 vols.; About 100 articles, each contributed by an expert in the social or behavioral sciences, on "the many topics that encompass current research and scholarship on the psychology of women and gender." Articles on such topics as "Abortion and Its Health Effects," "Achievement," "Body Image Concerns," "Career Achievement," "Hate Crimes," "Imprisonment in the United States," "Military Women," "Political Behavior," "Sport and Athletics," and "Work-Family Balance." Each article contains a glossary, cross-references, and a "Suggested Reading" section. Available? Sample Article

Encyclopedia of Gender and Society: Jodi O'Brien, editor. Thousand Oaks, California, Sage Publications, 2008.; Over 450 signed entries with brief bibliographies. Worldwide scope. Rutgers-restricted Access

The SAGE Encyclopedia of Psychology and Gender: Kevin Nadal. Thousand Oaks, SAGE Publications, 2017.; "This encyclopedia looks at issues of gender, identity, and psychological processes at the individual as well as the societal level, exploring topics such as how gender intersects with developmental processes both in infancy and childhood and throughout later life stages; the evolution of feminism and the men's movement; the ways in which gender can affect psychological outcomes and influence behavior; and more." Rutgers-restricted Access

Encyclopedia of American Women and Religion: June Melby Benowitz. Santa Barbara, ABC-CLIO, 2017. Rutgers-restricted Access

GenderWatch: 1970- Indexes articles relating to women and gender, including gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Includes non-mainstream publications. Rutgers-restricted Access

LGBTQ+ Source: Includes the full text of more than 140 journals and more than 150 books and reference materials, as well as indexing and abstracts for over 600 additional publications. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Women's Studies International: 1972- Women's Studies International is the most comprehensive index to women's studies resources. Incorporates citations from Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, and the Women's Studies Database, among others. Rutgers-restricted Access.

The Transgender Archives: The Transgender Archives' online discovery tool searches the world’s largest collection of Trans, nonbinary, Two-Spirit, and other gender-diverse publications. From the University of Victoria.

Backlash: The Undeclared War Against American Women: Susan Faludi. New York, Crown, 1991. Available?

Violence Against Women - Federal Legislation and Regulations: From the Justice Department's Office on Violence Against Women.

"What is a Homosexual? A Definitional Model: Raymond M. Berger. Social Work 28(2), March/April 1983, pp. 132-135. Rutgers-restricted Access

"The Gap Between Gay and Straight": Barbara Ehrenreich. Time May 10, 1993.

Queer America: A GLBT History of the the 20th Century: Vicki L. Eaklor. Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 2008. Available?

How Homophobia Hurts Children: Nurturing Diversity at Home, at School, and in the Community: Jean M. Baker. New York, Harrington Park Press, 2002. Available?

The Social Work and LGBTQ Sexual Trauma Casebook: Phenomenological Perspectives: Miriam Jaffe et al, editors. New York, Routledge, 2020. Rutgers-restricted Access

Email Me

Contact:

185 University Avenue
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102

Subjects: American Studies, Communication, Criminal Justice, History - Global & Eurasian, History - North America, Journalism & Media Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Literatures in English, New Jerseyana, Political Science, Social Work, Spanish & Portuguese Studies, Women's & Gender Studies