Human Diversity
This guide focuses on resources you can use to find information on diversity and vulnerable populations in the context of social work practice.
Subject Guide
Natalie Borisovets
Contact:
185 University Avenue
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
John Cotton Dana Library
Newark, N.J. 07102
Subjects: American Studies, Communication, Criminal Justice, History - Global & Eurasian, History - North America, Journalism & Media Studies, Latin American & Caribbean Studies, Literatures in English, New Jerseyana, Political Science, Social Work, Spanish & Portuguese Studies, Women's & Gender Studies
Human Diversity
This guide focuses on resources you can use to find information on diversity and vulnerable populations in the context of social work practice.
Not Sure Where to Start?
Articles in scholarly encyclopedias usually present a good overview of the topic and identify the current issues, approaches, and scholarship relating to that topic. Knowing the issues can help you focus your research on a particular aspect of a topic.
Some Basic Reference Works
- Encyclopedia of Social Work
- New York, National Association of Social Workers and Oxford University Press.
- Almost always a good place to begin your research. Over 700 lengthy signed articles with bibliographies on topics felt to be of particular relevance to social work; 200 brief biographies of key figures in the history of social work; and links to related social work resources. Many articles include a historical overview. Rutgers-restricted Access
- The SAGE Encyclopedia of Intercultural Competence
- Janet Marie Bennett, editor. Los Angeles, SAGE Reference, 2015.
- Multicultural America: A Multimedia Encyclopedia
- Carlos E. Cortes and Jane Sloan, editors. 4 volumes. Thousand Oaks, Calif, SAGE, 2013.
- Encyclopedia of Counseling
- Frederick T. L. Leong. 4 volumes. Los Angeles, SAGE Publications, 2008
- Volume 3 focuses on Cross-Cultural Counseling. Rutgers-restricted Access
- "A Multicultural Chronology of Welfare Policy and Social Work in the United States,"
- Anthony M. Platt and Jenifer L. Cooreman. Social Justice 28(1), Spring 2001, 91-137.
- "This chronology is designed to introduce future social workers to significant events, policies, people, and publications in the history of welfare policy and social work in the United States...Issues of race and racism, ethnicity, class, gender, and sexuality are central to the chronology's perspective." Includes a extensive bibliography. Rutgers-restricted Access
The Literature Review
- Literature Reviews: An Overview for Graduate Students
- 9 minute video from the North Carolina State University Libraries.
- Writing the Literature Review: A Practical Guide
- Sara Efrat Efron and Ruth Ravid. New York, Guilford Press, 2019.
- A nice, accessible, step--by-step guide to writing a literature review. Rutgers-restricted Access