Cinema Studies

Broad searching of books, journal articles, newspaper articles and much more. Once you've done a search, use "facets" on the left of the screen to narrow by subject, language, date, or format. QuickSearch allows nested Boolean searching, and you can use Advanced QuickSearch for more complex and nuanced searching, using Boolean connectors like AND, OR, & NOT. A good starting place, but consider subject-specific databases as well.

Scholarly citations from 1907 to 1984.

Back runs of more than 2000 important scholarly journals, including Film Quarterly, Cinema Journal, Film History, and Journal of Film and Video.

Primarily pre-2000 citations for scholarly work, with some more recent articles..

More pre-1972 citations, back to 1890, primarily local and general interest magazines.

Broad humanities and arts coverage, many with full text available.

Full-text coverage for more than 280 journals plus citation coverage for many more, dating as far back as the early 1900s.

Comprehensive bibliographic database covering all types of writing on film: scholarly, industry, journalism.

Contains 700,000 citations articles, reviews and book reviews on film, television, and video.

Collection of over 1,500 feature-length documentary films made by independent filmakers from all over the world. The majority of the films date from 1974 to the 21st century.

Comprehensive, if not always nuanced, searching of academic journals, book chapters, dissertations, and theses.

Comprehensive coverage (since mid-1990s, selective before) of academic literature and web resources in film.

multidisciplinary index to research and publications by Africans and about Africa

an index of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art.

It includes around 500,000 citations to monographs, journal articles, reviews, collected studies, and newspapers

Offers the full text of approximately 100,000 pages of non-fiction writing by leading figures in African American life and culture

Newspapers and journals of the ethnic, minority and native U.S. press, from 1960 to present.

Contains bibliographic citations to articles, book reviews, documents, original literary works, and other materials appearing in more than 500 key social sciences and humanities journals

Good for directors and writers.

For reviews and reports on productions.

Combined searching of the NY Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, Philadelphia Inquirer, Pittsburgh Gazette, and Chicago Defender.