Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Cinema Studies: Home

Resources for the Cinema and Film Studies Programs at Rutgers: Motion Picture History, Film and Media Theory, Film Industry Economics and Politics, Television, Media Center DVD collections, and more. . .

Places to Begin

Cinema studies is a relatively new field, so finding academic materials can be a challenge. Try QuickSearch for books, if your topic is very specific, like the title of a film or the name of a director.  Books may contain bibliographies that will provide you with journal articles targeted to your topic.

For  broader topics, use Advanced Search, and the phrase 'motion pictures', the standard term for films.  Combine it with a other words, such as thriller, or  murder: analyze the records to find more words that will help you search, in this case 'detective and mystery films'.  Likewise, books on any topic can be found by searching for 'motion pictures' and India, for example, or 'african americans'.

Our main page provides quick access to journal article indexes -- just place your keywords in the searchbox. The full list of article indexes and databases is here.

.

Overview

The Douglass Library  houses facilities in support of cinema studies and the libraries' primary collection of DVDs and other visual formats :

The Performing Arts Library includes print collections in film history and criticism.

The Fordham Multimedia Laboratory provides workstations for digital audio-visual production.

New Films in the Media Center

Mahanagar = The big city / screenplay, music, and direction by Satyajit Ray.  MEDIA 10-4276

About Me

Triveni Kuchi's picture
Triveni Kuchi
Contact:
Librarian for Sociology, Criminal Justice, Cinema, South Asian, and Middle Eastern Studies
New Brunswick Libraries,
Rutgers University - New Brunswick,
Carr Library, 75 Avenue E, Piscataway, NJ-08854
848-445-5733

Cinema Studies at Rutgers

Here you can find the homepage for the Cinema Studies program and obtain more information about courses, recent news, and upcoming events

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.