Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Criminal Justice: Criminal Justice Statistics

This Research Guide provides assistance in doing research in criminal justice.

General Statistics- Please see research topics for more specific statistic sources.

Basic Compilations

The Courts

New Jersey Statistics

New Jersey State Police -- In addition to the Uniform Crime Reports, New Jersey publishes special series on domestic violence, carjacking, and bias incidents.

Detailed Data

Bureau of Justice Statistics - provides much data, including these data analysis tools

ICPSR is the largest social science data archive, covering many topics relevant to criminal justice

National Archive of Criminal Justice Statistics - hosted by ICPSR, contains most of the large-scale studies of the criminal justice system

Roper iPoll and Roper Express can be a source of public opinion data on crime and law enforcement.  Also see Polling the Nations.

Hall of Justice: Hall of Justice is a project of the Sunlight Foundation. It is a robust, searchable inventory of publicly available criminal justice datasets and research.

 

Statistical Databases at Rutgers

  • Statista (Rutgers-restricted)-- "Statista gathers data from over 18,000 sources, including market reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases."--from the library introduction page
  • Data-Planet (Rutgers-restricted)-- Extensive datasets from "US Federal, US State, International, and Nonprofit organizational sources." -- from the library introduction page
  • Policy Map (Rutgers-restricted)--An online data and mapping application that provides access to over 10,000 indicators related to demographics, housing, income, crime, mortgages, health, jobs, and more.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.