Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physics Seminar - Spring 2022 (21:750:492 & 21:755:791)

This guide was created specifically for Dr. Saswata Roy's classes - Spring 2022

Library Research Session #3

Learning objectives:

Students will learn how to search Scopus and arXiv, as well as create a bibliography using EndNote Web. Upon completion of the session, students will be able to:

  1. execute an effective search in the Scopus index/database in order to find articles about their topic
  2. execute an effective search in arXiv.org
  3. export results from Scopus and arXiv to EndNote Web
  4. create a bibliography in a specific style with the help of EndNote Web
  5. compare and contrast arXiv, SciFinder, Scopus, and Web of Science

**Please note that the graded library exercise can be found on the Canvas course site, under the 'Assignments' or 'Quizzes' module.**

3/4/2022 Skeletal Outline

1. Scopus

Scopus offers coverage in the physical sciences (7,200+ titles), health sciences (6,800+ titles), life sciences (4,300+ titles), plus social sciences and humanities (5,300+ titles). It is a citation and abstract database with over 50 million records. Patents from 5 offices are included. Can be used to demonstrate the impact of particular articles and authors.  Coverage dates: 1996-present

2. arXiv.org

arXiv.org is a free online archive of preprint and postprint manuscripts in physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.

  • Exporting to EndNote Web (https://www.myendnoteweb.com)
  • In arXiv.org:

    1. open up the arXiv record for the item you are interested in

    2. under References & Citations (along the right side), click on NASA ADS

    3. along the left side of the next screen, click on Export Citation

    4. Select Export Format: EndNote

    5. Download to File

    6. Save File

  • In EndNote Web:

    1. under Collect à Import References

    2. File: Browse à select saved file

    3. Import Option: EndNote Import

    4. To: select appropriate folder

    5. Import

4. Creating a Bibliography Using EndNote Web

  1. To create a bibliography:
    1. In EndNote Web, under Format, click on Bibliography
      1. References: (select the relevant group)
      2. Bibliographic style: (for your convenience, click on Select Favorites to select the ones you tend to use most frequently)
      3. File format: (select your preferred choice)

  1. To do in-text citations:
    1. In EndNote Web, click on Downloads, then install the appropriate Cite While You Write plug-in
    2. Follow the instruction at https://clarivate.libguides.com/ld.php?content_id=52525048

IMPORTANT NOTE #1: Be sure to double-check that auto-generated citations are correct. In some cases, you may be asked to include a hyperlink for the citation (e.g., doi link).

  • The auto-generated APA 6th and APA 7th style bibliographies (following the American Psychological Association style) will include hyperlinks, when available.
  • The auto-generated AIP Style Manual bibliography does not.
  • The auto-generated Physical Reviews bibliography does not.

The doi is oftentimes exported into EndNote, but to create the doi link, you must add https://doi.org/ in front of the number.

IMPORTANT NOTE #2: If following AIP style or Physical Reviews, be sure to abbreviate journal titles per CASSI (https://cassi.cas.org/search.jsp) and consider double-checking the auto-generated stye against the references as presented in a recently published article in the relevant journal (https://quicksearch.libraries.rutgers.edu/journals).

More Helpful Links

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.