Skip to Main Content
Rutgers University Library logo

Physics Seminar - resources from past semesters

This guide condenses materials prepared by Bonnie Fong for Physics Seminars from 2017-2022

Library Research Session #2

Learning objectives:

Students will learn how to search another index/database (i.e., Scopus) and create a bibliography using a citation management tool (i.e., EndNote Web). Upon completion of the session, students will be able to:

  1. execute an effective search in the Scopus index/database in order to find articles about their topic
  2. export results from the Scopus index/database to EndNote online/basic/Web
  3. create a bibliography in a specific style with the help of EndNote online/basic/Web
  4. compare and contrast the Web of Science and Scopus indexes/databases

**Please note that the graded library exercise can be found on the Canvas course site, under the 'Assignments' or 'Quizzes' module.**

10/1/2021 Skeletal Outline

More Helpful Links

3. Creating a Bibliography Using EndNote Web

  1. To create a bibliography:
    1. In EndNote Web, under Format, click on Bibliography
      1. References: (select the relevant group)
      2. Bibliographic style: (for your convenience, click on Select Favorites to select the ones you tend to use most frequently)
      3. File format: (select your preferred choice)

  1. To do in-text citations:
    1. In EndNote Web, click on Downloads, then install the appropriate Cite While You Write plug-in
    2. Follow the instruction at https://clarivate.libguides.com/ld.php?content_id=52525048

IMPORTANT NOTE #1: The auto-generated citations may not be enough to meet Dr. Vindel-Zandbergen’s citation requirements for this course, which asks that you also include a hyperlink for the citation (e,g., doi link).

  • The auto-generated APA 6th and APA 7th style bibliographies (following the American Psychological Association style) will include hyperlinks, when available.
  • The auto-generated AIP Style Manual bibliography does not.
  • The auto-generated Physical Reviews bibliography does not.

The doi is oftentimes exported into EndNote, but to create the doi link, you must add https://doi.org/ in front of the number.

IMPORTANT NOTE #2: If following AIP style or Physical Reviews, be sure to abbreviate journal titles per CASSI (https://cassi.cas.org/search.jsp) and consider double-checking the auto-generated stye against the references as presented in a recently published article in the relevant journal (https://quicksearch.libraries.rutgers.edu/journals).