Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Physics Seminar - Spring 2022 (21:750:492 & 21:755:791)

This guide was created specifically for Dr. Saswata Roy's classes - Spring 2022

Library Research Session #1

Learning objectives:

Students will learn some foundational information literacy skills, how to search an index/database (i.e., Web of Science), and save references to a citation management tool (i.e., EndNote Web). Upon completion of the session, students will be able to:

  1. search for books using the QuickSearch system at Rutgers
  2. execute an effective search in the Web of Science index/database in order to find articles about their topic
  3. distinguish between original research articles and review articles
  4. identify the different methods to access the full-text of an article
  5. export results from the Web of Science index/database to EndNote online/basic/Web

**Please note that the graded library exercise can be found on the Canvas course site, under the 'Assignments' or 'Quizzes' module.**

2. Web of Science

Web of Science indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, and other formats. The heart of the platform is the Web of Science Core Collection, which indexes over 20,000 scholarly journals and includes over 1 billion cited references. The Collection includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, among others, with coverage strongest in the sciences. This index can be used to demonstrate the impact of particular articles and authors.  Coverage dates: 1900-present

Helpful Links

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.