Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and University Archives: Family History and Religious Institutions

Additional Information

Please note that collections listed here are those with a finding aid or container list only. For finding aids and additional information contact our reference services. For additional family papers view the guide to the manuscript collection of the Rutgers University Library (searchable PDF, 1964) and do a targeted advanced search for surnames in the library catalog, limiting the library to Special Collections--University Archives (view instructions). Materials stored off-site must be requested three days in advance.

Collections

Atkinson Family Papers, 1863-1946. (Bulk stored off-site)

The family were residents of New Brunswick, N.J., including sisters Mary Josephine Atkinson (1854-1933), a teacher and tutor; Sarah Atkinson (1861-1956), a teacher and later a translator (including for the American peace commissioners in Paris in 1898); and Florence Atkinson (1863-1889), a teacher. Materials within this collection consist of diaries, correspondence, photographs and other papers.

Brick, Gertrude N. Papers, ca. 1763-1984

Gertrude N. Brick was a lifelong resident of Crosswicks, New Jersey. She was educated in Philadelphia at the Ogontz School and the School of Home Economics and Commerce. She was a genealogist, antiquarian and local historian and was active in various community groups in Crosswicks. 

Brooks Family Papers, 1861-1924

The Brooks family papers date from 1861 to 1924 with the bulk of the documents covering the Civil War period, 1861 - 1865. The collection contains correspondence, photographs, miscellaneous family papers, including a mortgage and an oversized certificate.

Cooper, Benjamin B. Papers, 1804-1930. (Stored off-site)

The Benjamin B. Cooper papers include land records and genealogy, various Pennsylvania Lands (Holland Land Co.) documents, correspondence and other personal papers. 

De Yoe, Willard L. Papers, 1858-1962. (Stored off-site)

The De Yoe-Lydecker family resided in Passaic and Bergen county, N.J., the records include diaries, papers on politics of Paterson and Passaic county as well as notes and articles on the local history of Passaic and Bergen county, Paterson, N.J. and Rockland county, N.Y.

Gaston Family Papers, 1808-1960. (Stored off-site)

The Gaston family papers span at least four generations of a prominent Somerville, New Jersey, family. The earliest identified member of this family is William B. Gaston. He moved from Basking Ridge, New Jersey, to Somerville about 1824. His family was of Huguenot origin. He was a merchant, and held real estate. He was also an elder of the Second Reformed Church, and a lay judge of Somerset County.

Herbert, John B. Papers, 1825-1908

John Biddle Herbert worked as an attorney in Old Bridge, N.J. He was also the Treasurer of the East Brunswick and New Brunswick Turnpike Company, which appears to have been a family business operation. The collection is split into four series: Business and Financial Documents, Correspondence, Legal Documents, and Case Files. 

Morris, Robert Papers, 1677-1943

The Morris family papers consist of correspondence between family members, financial records, legal papers, and papers related to the West Jersey Society. 

Neilson Family Papers, 1768-1908(Stored off-site)

A prominent New Brunswick family, Col. John Neilson (1745-1833) commanded the New Jersey militia in the north during the American Revolution and is one of the earliest trustees of Rutgers University. The extensive collection includes correspondence, records related to mercantile activities, financial documents, copies of wills from various family members and other papers, including a genealogical chart. 

Rue-Holmes-Meiers Family Papers, 1695-1958

Papers of several ancestral families related to Mary Holmes (Rue) Wygant, which includes financial and legal papers such as receipts, deeds and estate documents. Correspondence, genealogical notes, compilations and other papers of the Holmes, Lawrence, Meirs and Rue Families are also present. 

Schenck, Ferdinand Schurman Papers, 1820-1881

The Schenck family papers are comprised of the diary of Garret C. Schenck (1829-1859) a law student of Rutgers College, biographical sketches of Ferdinand S. Schenck, Jr. (1835-1855) as well as documents related to the Schenck family genealogy, clippings, photos and other papers. 

Strong, Alan H. Papers, 1732-1931. (Stored off-site)

The Strong family papers include account books, correspondence, various diaries belonging to Susan De Lancey Van Rensselaer Strong as well as legal papers of Alan H. Strong and materials concerning the estate of Garret D. W. Vroom (1856-1910). Account books, letter books and other papers related to the Van Rensselaer family are also included. 

Ten Eyck Family Papers, 1725-1920

The Ten Eyck family were residents of Somerset County, N.J. and active members of the community. The collection includes diaries of various family members, letters, deeds, farm journals, general store daybooks, and miscellaneous documents. 

Terradell Family Papers, 1873-1983

The Terradell family papers are comprised of correspondence, a diary, genealogies and biographical data, notes, certificates, press clippings, several items of verse, photographs, estate documents and other miscellaneous records.

Voorhees, Peter A. Papers, 1772-ca. 1930. (Stored off-site)

The Voorhees family papers consist of personal papers belonging to Peter A. Voorhees, Mary H. (Voorhees) Hoagland, Irving Hoagland, and Abraham Voorhees. 

Wells, Julia (Wells Family) Papers, 1738-1953. (Stored off-site)

The papers of Julia Lawrence Wells consist of financial papers, estate papers for relatives (including her mother Sarah Remsen Wells), records of Elm farm and photographs. Papers related to other family members such as Thomas Lawrence Wells, Abraham Beach, and John Wells are also included.

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.