Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and University Archives: Family History and Religious Institutions

Additional Information

For finding aids and additional information contact our reference services. Materials stored off-site must be requested three days in advance. Please note that access to most of these materials is restricted. For more information view our policies and procedures.

Collections

Essex County Jewish Welfare Collection (Jewish Counseling and Service Agency Records), ca 1890-ca 1961. (Stored off-site)

The Essex County Jewish Welfare records consist of board and committee minutes and files, case files, agenda, statistics, subject and reference files. The collection also includes records of the Jewish Child Care Association and the Jewish Family Service Association of Essex County which merged in 1961 to form the Jewish Counseling and Service Agency. 

New Brunswick Children's Aid Society (Children's Industrial Home of New Brunswick) Records, 1878-1937

The New Brunswick Children's Aid Society collection includes minutes of regular and special meetings of the board of managers as well as minutes of annual meetings of the contributors and of the board of directors. Inserted into some volumes are miscellaneous loose documents not directly related to the minutes. 

Passaic Home and Orphans Asylum Association Records, 1882-1978

Records of the Passaic Home and Orphan Asylum consist of act of incorporation and by-laws, minutes of the board of governors as well as supporting documentation. Also included are registers of inmates, annual reports of the registrar, inmate case files, treasurer's accounts and roll call books. Miscellaneous items such as publications, scrapbooks, photoprints and correspondence are also present. 

Sheltering Arms Children's Service Records, 1823-1966. (Stored off-site)

The Sheltering Arms Children's Service was a child care service located in New York, NY. Their records are comprised of children's files, foster home files, Sheltering Arms magazines, annual reports and children's information files as well as financial records and miscellaneous items. 

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.