Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections and University Archives: Family History and Religious Institutions

Rutgers University

General Collections

Account books

see business, industries and trade

City Directories

This research guide to city directories includes directories for individual cities, counties and information for searching and finding directories within the collections. 

Genealogical Resources

The majority of the genealogical records within SC/UA have been deposited by the Genealogical Society of New Jersey and the New Jersey State Society of the Daughters of the American Revolution. The Rutgers genealogical collection is smaller, but is also a unique resource.

Personal and family names in the card catalog: see additional on-site resources

Publications about particular families: do a targeted advanced search in our library catalog and limit the libraries to Special Collections-University Archives (view instructions)

RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.