Qualitative Research

Providing a comprehensive guide to devising an effective research design, Uwe Flick discusses each stage of the process of designing qualitative research in detail, including formulating a research design, selecting an appropriate strategy, conceptual framework and data source, and collecting and analyzing data.

In the fourth edition of his best-selling textbook, David Silverman provides a step-by-step guide to planning and conducting qualitative research. Using real examples from real postgraduate students, the book makes it easy to link theory to methods and shows how to move from understanding the principles of qualitative research to doing it yourself.

The connectedness and degree of intimacy that forms between researcher and the researched in qualitative inquiry generates a range of ethical issues. Many professional associations have produced their own sets of ethical guidelines for members as a result of these issues. This edited collection explores and critically reviews the range of ethical dilemmas and issues that confront qualitative researchers in the field including: respect for privacy, establishing honesty and openness in the relationship formed, and guarding against misrepresentation.

Qualitative researchers read journal articles, serve on masters' and doctoral committees, make careful decisions on whether conference proposals, manuscripts, or large-scale grant applications should be accepted or rejected; yet, best practices on how to do this work thoroughly and efficientlyhave gained little attention over the last few decades.Evaluating Qualitative Research provides expert insight and advice on how to evaluate the merit of qualitative research in the academic community. As one of the first works of literature to address this gap in the exploration of theory, practice, and reflection that comes with the evaluation ofqualitative research, author Jeasik Cho constructs a typology of evaluation by examining actual information collected from a variety of websites and relevant journals. By analyzing a host of journals' established review guidelines and assessment apparatuses, Cho presents readers with the corecriteria that stands out amongst these tools. As a result, readers will be able to confidently agree upon the standards for how to best evaluate qualitative research not only for their work but for the community at large.

The extensively revised edition of the best-selling Focus Groups as Qualitative Research continues to provide an excellent guide for researchers across the disciplines.Reflecting the many changes that have occurred in the study of focus groups in recent years, the book begins with an updated introduction offering a discussion of current social science approaches to focus groups. Expanded coverage on the comparison of focus groups to individual interviews follows, and there is more material on the strengths and weaknesses of focus groups. The section on self-contained focus groups has also been expanded. Subsequent chapters have been revised to include examples from social scientists who have established their own practices and methodological research on focus groups. In conclusion, the author offers future directions and references that take into account the explosive growth of focus groups as a research tool for all social scientists.

In Philosophies of Qualitative Research, Svend Brinkmann explores the different philosophical paradigms and ideas that influence qualitative research today. Adopting a historical perspective, the book shows readers exactly how philosophical ideas have evolved and influenced qualitativeresearch in both the past and present.Today, qualitative researchers tend to report on their philosophical commitments in an altogether separate section of their research papers. However, as Philosophies of Qualitative Research asserts, the researcher's philosophical ideas influence everything from the conception of the topic to thefinal reporting of its results. Therefore, philosophy should not be thought of as a purely abstract discipline, disconnected from the practicalities of research, but rather as a concrete and pervasive aspect of all qualitative research practices.In this book, Brinkmann offers readers an important introduction and discussion of the philosophical issues that are relevant today, regardless of the specific methods employed by qualitative researchers in the field.

A who's who of methodologists, this book introduces students to the big picture of qualitative research, teaching both the 'why' and the 'how to' of getting started, selecting a method and conducting research and data analysis. With practical tips, summaries, exercises and further reading, each chapter is like a masterclass from a leading scholar in qualitative research. New to the fourth edition: A streamlined structure to guide readers step-by-step through the research process Substantial new section with 4 chapters on how to collect and analyse online data A new chapter on reflexive ethnography More hands-on advice on how to conduct research at every stage, making this a perfect field handbook Updated reading lists provide a go-to guide to the literature and help improve citations The most comprehensive qualitative research book available, this is the perfect all-in-one companion for any student embarking on a qualitative research course or project.

Qualitative Research in Nursing and Healthcare is an invaluable resource for those who carry out qualitative research in the healthcare arena. It is intended to assist: Professionals and academics in the healthcare field who undertake or teach research in clinical or educational settings; Postgraduates who are undertaking qualitative research and want to revise qualitative research approaches and procedures before going on to more specialist texts; and Undergraduates in their last year who wish to learn about qualitative perspectives or carry out a project using these approaches. Fully updated from the earlier editions by Holloway and Wheeler, it reflects recent developments in nursing research. This new edition provides clear explanations of abstract ideas in qualitative research as well as practical procedures. Structured into four sections, the book looks at the initial stages, methods of data collection, qualitative approaches and analysis of collected data. It also contains a chapter on writing up and publishing qualitative research.

There is a clear need for a book which treats qualitative research as a substantive theme within social work, setting epistemological and methodological issues in a context whereby the agenda is set by, and is relevant to, social work. Qualitative Research in Social Work is just such a book and will be immensely useful for students, practitioners and researchers interested in and undertaking social work research. In the introductory chapters the co-authors set qualitative research within a context of social work developments and problems. The central section provides additional topicality and directness through specially commissioned chapters from leading figures in this field each covering key qualitative methods and rel

Authors Jerome Kirk and Marc L. Miller define what is--and what is not--qualitative research. They suggest that the use of numbers in the process of recording and analyzing observations is less important than that the research should involve sustained interaction with the people being studied, in their own language and on their own turf. Following a chapter on objectivity, the authors discuss the role of reliability and validity and the problems that arise when these issues are neglected. They present a paradigm for the qualitative research process that makes it possible to pursue validity without neglecting reliability.

The Second Edition of Theoretical Frameworks in Qualitative Research brings together some of today's leading qualitative researchers to discuss the frameworks behind their published qualitative studies. They share how they found and chose a theoretical framework, from what discipline the framework was drawn, what the framework posits, and how it influenced their study. Both novice and experienced qualitative researchers are able to learn first-hand from various contributors as they reflect on the process and decisions involved in completing their study. The book also provides background for beginning researchers about the nature of theoretical frameworks and their importance in qualitative research; about differences in perspective about the role of theoretical frameworks; and about how to find and use a theoretical framework.

This book provides a discussion of qualitative research methods from an ethnomethodological perspective. Detailed yet concise, Paul ten Have's text explores the complex relation between the more traditional methods of qualitative social research and the discipline of ethnomethodology. It draws on examples from both ethnomethodological studies and the wider field of qualitative research to discuss critically an array of methods for qualitative data collection and analysis. Key features of the book include: · A broad coverage - includes discussions of interviewing, the use of documents, ethnography, and methods of data analysis · An understanding of different research traditions and illustrations of how these may be used in practice · Concise chapter summaries and further reading sections to aid student learning With a student-friendly structure, this engaging book will be an invaluable resource for both students and researchers across the social sciences.

This book helps students and scholars get started on the exciting journey of using visual data in social research. It covers the many uses a researcher can make of images, from creating images as a part of the research process to collecting and analyzing images from diverse sources.  Exploring the opportunities and arming readers with tools to overcome some of the practical challenges, Using Visual Data in Qualitative Research is a perfect guide to uncovering new and unexpected dimensions of social life.