Citing Your Sources
Links and information about citation tools, styles, and formats are included, so that proper credit can be given to the sources referenced.
Citation Formats
Citing Analytical Data
- Adobe After Effects: citations in multiple formats
- Audacity: citing the product software
- ATLAS.ti: typically reference the name of the software and the version used
- Catma: documentation about citing this software is provided below
- Dedoose: citing the web application
- Final Cut Pro: various citation formats included on this webpage
- HyperRESEARCH: cited along with other researchware products as described in this article
- MAXQDA: can be cited in-text and as a bibliographic entry, the software site provides examples here
- NVivo: cite using the QSR software, information about doing so below
- Qualtrics: citing Qualtrics in academic research
- SPSS: most likely does not need citing, check out these resources below to learn more
Citation Management Tools
- EndNoteEndNote is a program that helps users collect and organize references from online or other sources, create a searchable personal database of references, find fulltext articles, manage and annotate PDF files, cite references while writing a paper, create bibliographies formatted in a preferred style, and more.
- RefWorksRefWorks 3 is the latest version of RefWorks, a research management tool that makes it easy to save references to books, articles, and web pages and organize them into your own personal research library.
- ZoteroZotero is a free citation management software. It automatically senses content and allows you to add it to your personal library with a single click. If you want to add a book citation from Amazon, a journal article from JSTOR or a news story from the New York Times, Zotero allows you to add the citations with a click. You can use Zotero to create a bibliography (cited reference page) or add footnotes.
- BibMeAn easy to use bibliography maker that can create citations in MLA, APA, Chicago, or Turabian format.
- EasyBibFree MLA format automatic bibliography and citation maker. Other citation formats (e.g., APA and Turabian) require purchase.
- Citation MachineGenerates bibliographic citations in APA, MLA, Chicago, or Turabian format based on information you enter into a web form.
Style Guides
MLA Style Manual and Guide to Scholarly Publishing by Call Number: Reference PN147.G444 2008ISBN: 9780873522977Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Pocket Guide to APA Style by Call Number: Reference BF76.7.P47 2012ISBN: 9780495912637Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by Call Number: Reference BF76.7.P83 2020ISBN: 9781433832161Publication Date: 2019-10-01
