Qualitative Research
Compilation of supplementary resources for Research Methods or Social Research Methods Courses
Reference Works
The SAGE Handbook of Qualitative Research by Call Number: Stacks H62.H2455 2017ISBN: 9781483349800Publication Date: 2017-02-15The substantially updated and revised Fifth Edition of this landmark handbook presents the state-of-the-art theory and practice of qualitative inquiry. Representing top scholars from around the world, the editors and contributors continue the tradition of synthesizing existing literature, defining the present, and shaping the future of qualitative research.
Doing Qualitative Research by Call Number: Stacks H62.S55 2010ISBN: 1848600348Publication Date: 2009-12-08Written in a lively, accessible style, Doing Qualitative Research, 3rd Edition provides a step-by-step guide to all the questions students ask when beginning their first research project. Silverman demonstrates how to learn the craft of qualitative research by applying knowledge about different methods to actual data.
Handbook for Synthesizing Qualitative Research by ISBN: 0826156940Publication Date: 2007-01-01Written for graduate-level students and faculty in health care science disciplines, this handbook will help you integrate the findings in reports of primary qualitative studies as well as extrapolate the methods and techniques used to create a qualitative research synthesis. Using reports of studies in two domains of research and across behavior, social science, and practice disciplines.
Handbook of Qualitative Health Research for Evidence-Based Practice by ISBN: 1493929208Publication Date: 2015-10-12This progressive reference redefines qualitative research as a crucial component of evidence-based practice and assesses its current and future impact on healthcare. Its introductory section explains the value of sociocultural context in case conceptualization, and ways this evidence can be integrated with quantitative findings to inform and transform practice.
Handbook of Qualitative Organizational Research by Call Number: Stacks HM786.H365 2016ISBN: 9781848725096Publication Date: 2015-12-08This handbook provides a comprehensive overview of state-of-the-art, innovative approaches to qualitative research for organizational scholars. Individual chapters in each area are written by experts in a variety of fields, who have contributed some of the most innovative studies themselves in recent years. An indispensable reference guide to anyone conducting high-impact organizational research, this handbook includes innovative approaches to research problems, data collection, data analysis and interpretation, and application of research findings. The book will be of interest to scholars and graduate students in a wide variety of disciplines, including anthropology, organizational behavior, organizational theory, social psychology, and sociology
Handbook of Qualitative Research in Communication Disorders by Call Number: Stacks RC423.H3266 2014ISBN: 9781848726437Publication Date: 2013-08-19This volume provides a comprehensive and in-depth handbook of qualitative research in the field of communication disorders. It introduces and illustrates the wide range of qualitative paradigms that have been used in recent years to investigate various aspects of communication disorders. The first part of the Handbook introduces in some detail the concept of qualitative research and its application to communication disorders, and describes the main qualitative research approaches. The contributions are forward-looking rather than merely giving an overview of their topic. The second part illustrates these approaches through a series of case studies of different communication disorders using qualitative methods of research. This Handbook is an essential resource for senior undergraduate and graduate students, researchers and practitioners, in communication disorders and related fields.
The Handbook of Qualitative Research in Education by Call Number: Stacks H62.H2456 1991ISBN: 0124405703Publication Date: 1992-01-20This book is a compilation of state-of-the-art chapters by established and rising stars in the field. The qualitative approach to gathering data is an exciting development in educational research, and as yet there are no comprehensive reference works available. This book offers a range of perspectives on the field, and is of considerable utility to researchers and graduate students alike.
Handbook of Qualitative Research Methods for International Business by Call Number: Reference HD2755.5.H3718 2004ISBN: 1845424344Publication Date: 2005-05-27This innovative Handbook draws together and reflects on the specific methodological challenges that an international business scholar is likely to face when undertaking a qualitative research project. With a practical, hands-on approach to methodological debates, the Handbook raises concerns specific to international business scholars. Covering the entire life cycle of a research project from its philosophical underpinnings to publication hurdles, the book explores existing practices and gives voice to multiple, even contrasting perspectives.
Handbook of Qualitative Research Methods in Marketing by Call Number: Stacks HF5415.2.H288 2006ISBN: 1845421000Publication Date: 2006-12-21The Handbook of Qualitative Research Methods in Marketing offers both basic and advanced treatments intended to serve academics, students, and marketing research professionals. The 42 chapters begin with a history of qualitative methods in marketing by Sidney Levy and continue with detailed discussions of current thought and practice in: * research paradigms such as grounded theory and semiotics * research contexts such as advertising and brands* data collection methods such as projectives and netnography* data analysis methods such as metaphoric and visual analyses * presentation topics such as videography and reflexivity* applications such as ZMET applied to Broadway plays and depth interviews with executives* special issues such as multi-sited ethnography and research on sensitive topics.
Handbook of Research Methods in Tourism by Call Number: Stacks G155.7.H36 2012ISBN: 9781781001288Publication Date: 2012-08-31This insightful book explores the most important established and emerging qualitative and quantitative research methods in tourism. The authors provide a detailed overview of the nature of the research method, its use in tourism, the advantages and limitations, and future directions for research. Each chapter is structured to provide information on: the nature of the technique and its evolution; background and types of problems that the technique is designed to handle; applications of the technique to tourism, including discussion of studies that have used the technique and their findings; advantages and limitations of the technique conceptually and for policy formulation; and further developments and applications of the technique in tourism research. Handbook of Research Methods in Tourism will appeal to social scientists, students as well as researchers in tourism who use quantitative and qualitative research techniques.
Internet Communication and Qualitative Research by ISBN: 0761966269Publication Date: 2000-09-05"The internet is exploding with possibilities for conducting social research. Mann and Stewart offer the first in-depth consideration of the prospects and potentials for doing qualitative research on-line. This wide ranging, clearly-written book is essential reading for researchers working at the cutting edge of qualitative methodology." -James Holstein, Marquette University
Qualitative Research for the Information Professional by Call Number: Stacks Z669.7.G67 1997ISBN: 1856041786Publication Date: 1997-10-01Since the 1960s, qualitative methodologies have been attracting significant and growing interest as research tools. This text is an integrated manual on how to conduct qualitative research. Its coverage includes all aspects of the field from conception to completion and all areas from multisite studies to data organization. The book features many examples and case studies and offers a manual of practice designed for LIS professionals. It covers: an introduction to qualitative research in library and information management; grounded theory and types of qualitative research in library and information management; fieldwork and data collection in library and information management; recording data in fieldwork; analysing qualitative data; writing qualitative research reports; and examples of qualitative research in library and information management.
Databases and Journals
Databases:
- AnthroSource: a collection of all past and current publications of the American Anthropological Association, including journals, newsletters, bulletins, and conference proceedings
- CINAHL: provides comprehensive indexing of the nursing and allied health journal literature
- ERIC (Education Resources Information Center): a national online database of education research and information
- Google Scholar
- ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global: includes records for international dissertations beginning in the year 1637 and U.S. dissertations beginning with the first one, accepted in 1861
- PubMed: is a database of more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- PsycInfo: is an index of scholarly literature in behavioral sciences and mental health fields
- SAGE Knowledge: Collection of over 5000 eBooks, including monographs, encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks
- SAGE Research Methods: is a platform with information about research methodologies in a variety of disciplines.
- Social Services Abstracts: provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development
- Sociological Abstracts: abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences
Journals:
- Action Research
- Anthropology and Education Quarterly
- Anthropology and Humanism
- Cultural Anthropology
- Discourse Studies
- Field Methods
- Global Qualitative Nursing Research
- International Journal of Qualitative Methods
- Journal of Business Research
- Journal of Contemporary Ethnography
- Journal of Ethnographic and Qualitative Research
- Journal of the Market Research Society
- Journal of Organizational Ethnography
- Qualitative Health Research
- Qualitative Inquiry
- Qualitative Report
- Qualitative Research in Psychology
- Qualitative Research Reports in Communication
- Qualitative Social Work
- Qualitative Sociology
Resources
These essential reference materials can help provide general information concerning qualitative research methods, theories, and practices. The list of databases and journals can act as a starting point for finding sources and beginning your search for information.