Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Wealth and Poverty in the United States: Finding Images, Media, and Sound

Streaming Video Databases

Swank Digital Campus
Digital access to feature films and documentaries that Rutgers instructors are using in their courses this year. Content will change from semester to semester.
Kanopy
A broad selection of streaming documentaries, independent and foreign films, classics, and feature films.

Finding Films

Want to know if the Rutgers Libraries own a particular film?

Enter the title into the QuickSearch Browse search box.
DVDs and VHS cassettes are on shelves on the lower level of Dana Library near the group lounge area. Simply take the empty box for the item you want upstairs to the Circulation Desk located in the first floor lobby of the library. Circulation staff will retrieve the tape, CD or DVD for you and check it out to you just as they would a book.
Most circulating DVDs owned by the Media Center in New Brunswick are eligible for the Rutgers Delivery Service.

Sound Collections

Naxos Music Library
An on-line library of more than 75,000 tracks of music from the catalog of Naxos, a leading classical music label, and selected additional labels. Primarily classical music but also includes world music, jazz, and national anthems. Rutgers-restricted Access
Smithsonian Global Sound
Over 2900 online audio recordings (over 42,000 tracks) of American folk, blues, bluegrass, jazz, spoken word, and world music. Rutgers-restricted Access
DRAM: Database of Recorded American Music
CD quality audio, complete and original liner notes and essays from New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. (CRI) and other important labels. Over 1,200 complete CDs (7,500 compositions). Rutgers-restricted Access

Radio, Television, and Film

Film and Television Literature Index with Full Text
Includes Variety film reviews from 1914 to the present as well as more than 36,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive.   Rutgers-restricted Access
Paley Center for Media Database
The Paley Center (New York City) houses a media collection of nearly 150,000 television and radio programs and advertisements.
American History in Video
Digitized documentaries, newsreel films, and archival footage.   Rutgers-restricted Access
World War II Propaganda Films and IU
Streaming access to over 200 War-era films from IULMIA's collections. In addition to films focused on war news and topice, includes films about domestic life and economy, agriculture, workplace training, and the cultures of the allied nations.

Historical Magazines

Media History Digital Library: Online Access to the Histories of Cinema, Broadcasting & Sound
The Media History Digital Library digitizes collections of classic media periodicals that belong in the public domain for full public access. Over 800,000 pages currently scanned. Among available titles are: Broadcasting 1931-1956; The Film Daily 1918-1948; Photoplay 1914-1943; Radio Age 1942-1957; and Variety 1905-1949.

Finding Early Film Reviews

Film Review Index. 2 vols
Patricia King Hanson & Stephen L. Hanson, editors. Phoenix, Ariz., Oryx Press, 1986-
One of the best sources for finding early film reviews, the Film Review Index cites reviews to over 7000 feature films released between 1914 and 1985. Vol. 1: 1882-1949; Vol. 2: 1950-1985. In addition to popular magazines, the index also lists reviews in trade publications, newspapers, anthologies, and selected books.
Dana Call Number: Ref. PN1995 .F513 1986

Once you have the list of sources in which a specific film was reviewed, you will need to go to QuickSearch to find out if that source is available at Rutgers.
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature Retrospective. 1900- .
Index to the major general interest and popular periodicals from the late 19th century to 1982. An excellent source for finding film reviews.

Jazz Discography

The Jazz Discography
Information on over 183,000 jazz recording sessions from 1896 to the present. Information for each session includes personnel, place and date of recording, song titles, matrix numbers, and issue (catalog) numbers for a variety of formats, from 78 rpm discs to CDs and downloads. Rutgers-restricted access

Image Libraries

Ad*Access
"Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955." A digital collection from the Duke University Libraries.
Emergence of Advertising in America
"Over 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States." A digital collection from the Duke University Libraries.
AdViews: A Digital Archive of Vintage Television Commercials
Thousands of television commercials from the 1950s to the 1980s.
World War II Poster Collection at Northwestern University Library
Over 400 posters issued by U.S. Federal agencies.
Women of World War II
Rich collection of photographs, posters, recruiting publications and videos.
New York Public Library Digital Gallery
Over 884,352 images digitized from NYPL collections.

You can also use Google Image Search to look for images of particular people or subjects.

Comic Books

Grand Comics Database
International database includes access to over 669,499 comic book covers and some 1,964,009 stories.

Fanzines

Hevelin Fanzines
Digitized collection of science fiction fanzines, primarily from the 1940s, at the University of Iowa.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.