Wealth and Poverty in the United States

This is a selected list of databases that you may find useful for finding articles on your topic. You can also check out the complete list of Rutgers online indexes and databases.

Academic Search Premier

A basic multidisciplinary database, ASP indexes both news magazines (Time back to 1929, Newsweek, U.S. News and World Report) and scholarly journals. Especially strong for arts and humanities titles; also good resource for book reviews. Rutgers-restricted Access

ProQuest Social Sciences Premium Collection

Index to over 10,000 social science titles, including journal articles, books, dissertations, proceedings, and government publications; full-text access to over 1800 journals. International and interdisciplinary in scope. (Rutgers-restricted Access)

JSTOR

JSTOR provides electronic access to back runs, many back to the 19th century or earlier, of more than 2000 important scholarly journals in a variety of disciplines. JSTOR does not include current issues of journals; generally the most recently published issue of any current journal will not appear in JSTOR until 3-5 years after the publishing date. Rutgers current access is to ten of the twelve JSTOR Arts and Sciences collections. Rutgers-restricted access

America: History and Life

1964- . The most comprehensive index to American (U.S. and Canada) history. Indexes over 2000 journals worldwide, as well as book reviews and dissertations. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Sociology and Related Disciplines

Sociological Abstracts 1963-

Index to approximately 1800 scholarly and professional journals in sociology and related disciplines, including economic development, policy, planning, urban sociology, and welfare services. Also indexes books reviews, books, and book chapters, dissertations and conference papers.(Rutgers-restricted Access)

Economics

EconLit

Comprehensive bibliographic index for economic literature. Indexes journal, books, dissertations, working papers, and volumes of articles. (Rutgers-restricted Access)

Fed in Print: An Index to Federal Reserve Economic Research

Index to articles, reports, papers, and monographs produced by the Federal Reserve research departments. Links to full text where available. Mid-1960s- .

IDEAS

The largest free Economics bibliographic database. Links to over 1,700,000 items, including almost 600,000 working papers.

Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice Abstracts

Comprehensive index to journals, books, government publications, dissertations, and reports relating to criminal justice, criminology, and related disciplines from 1968 to the present. Rutgers-restricted Access

Gender and Sexuality

GenderWatch

1970- Indexes articles relating to women and gender, including gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Includes non-mainstream publications. Rutgers-restricted Access

LGBTQ+ Source

Includes the full text of more than 140 journals and more than 150 books and reference materials, as well as indexing and abstracts for over 600 additional publications. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Women's Studies International

1972- Women's Studies International is the most comprehensive index to women's studies resources. Incorporates citations from Women Studies Abstracts, Women's Studies Bibliography Database, and the Women's Studies Database, among others. Rutgers-restricted Access.

Health Services

Healthstar

Index to literature on health services and administration, including health insurance, health policy, health economics and financial management, and laws and regulations. Rutgers-restricted Access

Interested in education issues and policies?

ERIC - Educational Resources Information Center

1966- The premier resource for educational research, the ERIC database contains more than one million abstracts covering research documents, journal articles, technical reports, program descriptions and evaluations, and curricular materials in the field of education. Rutgers-restricted Access

ProQuest Education Journals

Index to more than 900 scholarly journals in the field of Education, along with trade journals and magazines. Approximately 600 titles are available full-text. Rutgers-restricted Access

Interested in transportation issues and policies?

TRID: the TRIS and ITRD Database

TRID is an integrated database that combines the records from TRB’s Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD’s Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database.

Transportation Articles Database

From Northwestern University's Transportation Library. Index to articles, conference papers, and other materials on transportation and law enforcement topics. 1976- .

Not all databases have all the articles they cite available in full text. Use the button that's in the database article record to have the system search Rutgers subscriptions for the full-text article.

If the Rutgers Libraries don't have the article (don't subscribe to the journal/don't have that issue), or only have a copy in print format, you can use Interlibrary Loan and Article Delivery Services to request electronic delivery of the article.