George H. Cook Honors Program
Research guide for students in the George H. Cook Honors Program at SEBS
Managing the research process with citation managament tools
With a research and bibliographic management tool such as RefWorks or EndNote, you can
- import or manually upload citations and full-text articles from databases and websites
- organize, customize, and store information in folders and subfolders
- read, highlight, and annotate documents
- add in-text citations and footnotes to a paper directly from your RefWorks library
- create and format a bibliography in a variety of citation styles
- share documents to collaborate with other researchers
- Cite Right: Managing CitationsA blog post on the importance of citing right and how to do it.
Related Guides
- RefWorksThis guide is for users new to citation management and RefWorks. It focuses on using the "new" RefWorks, i. e., the ProQuest RefWorks or RefWorks 3.
- EndNoteEndNote is a citation management tool used by researchers, faculty, and students to store, organize and cite references. This guide is to show how to use EndNote effectively. Includes tutorials and instructions.
- RU Citing? Solutions & Strategies for Avoiding Plagiarism: Links & TutorialsA comprehensive collection of information and resources about plagiarism created by Rutgers librarians.
RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM)
RefWorks offers an optional utility that allows you to run an abbreviated version of RefWorks in Microsoft Word and Google Docs. You can cite references in a manuscript with one click and watch your paper format instantly including in-text citations, footnotes and your bibliography.
- RefWorks Citation Manager for WordFollow these steps to install RefWorks Citation Manager.
- RefWorks Citation Manager (RCM) for Google DocsFollow these steps to install RefWorks Citation Manager.
Citing Options without Citation Managers
Creating Perfect A+ Citations
- QuickSearch: Use the citation symbol in the record and select Chicago Style.
- BEST for: Articles found in QuickSearch, scholarly articles found elsewhere, newspaper articles.
- TIP: Paste the title in quotes in QuickSearch, check the Expand My Search box on the right to search for the record in libraries outside of Rutgers.
- Databases: Look for a CITE option. E.g., in the ProQuest databases, select the article and click on the citation symbol in the top right corner.
- BEST for: Saving instant citations for articles found in the database, including newspaper articles.
- ALTERNATIVES: QuickSearch, Google Scholar, manual citation.
- Google Scholar: Preferably from the RUL link. Use the citation symbol below the record and select APA Style.
- BEST for: Scholarly articles found anywhere.
- TIP: Paste the title in quotes in Google Scholar.
- Manual Editing: Always double check the citations generated by any of the above methods. Use the Purdue OWL or the Chicago Manual of Style.
- BEST for: Anything and everything, if you want that A+ for your paper!
- TIP: Use manual citations for web sites and other primary documents.
See more from Purdue OWL on how to format your references.