Why Use Databases?
Articles published in journals, magazines, and newspapers are indexed in a variety of online databases. Since no single database provides access to every article ever published, you may need to search multiple databases to find what you are looking for. See Databases to browse by title or subject.
Selecting Databases
Rutgers subscribes to many databases covering a variety of topics. Rutgers off-campus users must log in with their NetID to access restricted resources.
- Is your topic multidisciplinary? Need database suggestions? Get help from RUL.
TIP: Found a few relevant articles with QuickSearch?
Scroll to the bottom of each record to SOURCE and check which databases indexed the journal that published the article.
- Full list of databasesIndexes and databases available from Rutgers University Libraries searchable by database name, subject, and keyword. Most of them are Rutgers-restricted and will require to log in with your NetID.
Retrieving Full-Text Articles
Rutgers has many databases that provide full-text articles in PDF or html form. Others provide only citations or abstracts. There are several options for locating the full text.
- If you don't see the PDF icon or a link to the full text of an article, click the
button. If the article is available via Rutgers, you will gain access. - If the article is not available at Rutgers, you will be able to request an electronic copy through an Article Delivery link in the database.
- If you do not see an Article Delivery option, you can copy and paste the title of the article into QuickSearch. Log in with your NetID to see access or delivery options.
- If the title does not show up, try checking the "Expand My Search" box to access the record from another library, then click the Article Delivery button. The interlibrary loan form will automatically populate. For further assistance, see: How to Borrow from Other Libraries.
- You may also check for access in Google Scholar via the Rutgers link. The results will state if Rutgers has access to the article.
- If all fails, you can always ask a librarian for help.
Suggested Databases
- ProQuest Biological Science CollectionCovers a wide range of topics in biological sciences, including biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, zoology, and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. [Rutgers-restricted]
- ProQuest Environmental Science CollectionCovers research from the fields of atmospheric science, bacteriology, biology, biotechnology, ecology, and engineering. [Rutgers-restricted]
- ProQuest Natural Science CollectionCovers agriculture, aquatic science, biology, conservation, earth & environmental sciences, food science, forestry, geography, medical sciences, meteorology, pharmacology, public health, veterinary science, water resources, and more. It includes a wide range of materials, such as journal articles, books, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings, reports, and government publications. [Rutgers-restricted]
- PubMedA database of more than 30 million citations related to biomedical and health sciences. [Rutgers-restricted]
- ScienceDirectA platform for ebooks and peer-reviewed journals in diverse disciplines of sciences. [Rutgers-restricted]
- ScopusA comprehensive, curated abstract and citation database, with an option to narrow down searches to animals. [Rutgers-restricted]
- Web of ScienceThe Web of Science Core Collection indexes over 20,000 scholarly journals and includes over 1 billion cited references. [Rutgers-restricted]