Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books / Style Manuals
AMA Manual of Style by
Call Number: WZ345 A512 2007 Newark Reference
Publication Date: 2007-03-15
For decades indispensable, the AMA Manual of Style continues to provide editorial support to the medical and scientific publishing community. Since the 1998 publication of the 9th edition, however, the world of medical publishing has rapidly modernized, and the intersection of research and publishing has become ever more complex. The 10th edition of the AMA Manual of Style, to be published in early 2007, brings this definitive manual into the 21st century with a broadened international perspective. In doing so, the 10th edition has expanded its electronic guidelines, with the understanding that authors now routinely submit articles through online systems and often cite Web-only content. Ethical and legal issues receive increased attention, with detailed guidelines on authorship, conflicts of interest, scientific misconduct, intellectual property, and the protection of individuals rights in scientific research and publication. The new edition examines research ethics and editorial independence and features new material on indexing and searching as well as medical nomenclature. JAMA and the Archives Journals, one of the most respected groups of medical publications in the world, have lent their expert staff of professional journal editors, half of whom are physicians, to the committee that has produced this edition. Extensively peer-reviewed, the forthcoming 10th edition will provide a welcome and improved standard for the growing international medical community. More than a style manual, this 10th edition offers invaluable guidance on how to navigate the dilemmas that authors and researchers and their institutions, medical editors and publishers, and members of the news media who cover scientific research confront in a society that has thrust these issues center stage.
The Chicago Manual of Style by
Call Number: Z253 C532 2003 Newark Reference
Publication Date: 2003-08-01
The Fifteenth Edition is available in book form and as a subscription Website. The same content from The Chicago Manual of Styleis in both versions. In the 1890s, a proofreader at the University of Chicago Press prepared a single sheet of typographic fundamentals intended as a guide for the University community. That sheet grew into a pamphlet, and the pamphlet grew into a book—the first edition of theManual of Style, published in 1906. Now in its fifteenth edition,The Chicago Manual of Style—the essential reference for authors, editors, proofreaders, indexers, copywriters, designers, and publishers in any field—is more comprehensive and easier to use than ever before. Those who work with words know how dramatically publishing has changed in the past decade, with technology now informing and influencing every stage of the writing and publishing process. In creating the fifteenth edition of theManual, Chicago's renowned editorial staff drew on direct experience of these changes, as well as on the recommendations of theManual's first advisory board, composed of a distinguished group of scholars, authors, and professionals from a wide range of publishing and business environments. Every aspect of coverage has been examined and brought up to date—from publishing formats to editorial style and method, from documentation of electronic sources to book design and production, and everything in between. In addition to books, theManualnow also treats journals and electronic publications. All chapters are written for the electronic age, with advice on how to prepare and edit manuscripts online, handle copyright and permissions issues raised by technology, use new methods of preparing mathematical copy, and cite electronic and online sources. A new chapter covers American English grammar and usage, outlining the grammatical structure of English, showing how to put words and phrases together to achieve clarity, and identifying common errors. The two chapters on documentation have been reorganized and updated: the first now describes the two main systems preferred by Chicago, and the second discusses specific elements and subject matter, with examples of both systems. Coverage of design and manufacturing has been streamlined to reflect what writers and editors need to know about current procedures. And, to make it easier to search for information, each numbered paragraph throughout theManualis now introduced by a descriptive heading. Clear, concise, and replete with commonsense advice,The Chicago Manual of Style, fifteenth edition, offers the wisdom of a hundred years of editorial practice while including a wealth of new topics and updated perspectives. For anyone who works with words, whether on a page or computer screen, this continues to be the one reference book you simply must have. What's new in the Fifteenth Edition: * Updated material throughout to reflect current style, technology, and professional practice * Scope expanded to include journals and electronic publications * Comprehensive new chapter on American English grammar and usage by Bryan A. Garner (author ofA Dictionary of Modern American Usage) * Updated and rewritten chapter on preparing mathematical copy * Reorganized and updated chapters on documentation, including guidance on citing electronic sources * Streamlined coverage of current design and production processes, with a glossary of key terms * Descriptive headings on all numbered paragraphs for ease of reference * New diagrams of the editing and production processes for both books and journals, keyed to chapter discussions * New, expanded Web site with special tools and features forManualusers at www.chicagomanualofstyle.org
Citing Medicine the NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers by
Call Number: [Electronic Resource]
Publication Date: 2nd Ed.
Citing Medicine provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.
Electronic Styles by
Publication Date: 1996-01-01
The second edition of the best-selling guide to referencing electronic information and citing the complete range of electronic formats includes text-based information, electronic journals and discussion lists, Web sites, CD-ROM and multimedia products, and commercial online documents.
Mastering APA Style by
Call Number: Z253 M423 2010 Newark Reference
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
Medical Writing by
Call Number: WZ345 T245c 2011 Newark Books Lower
Publication Date: 2011-08-18
The first edition of this book (titled The Clinician’s Guide to Medical Writing) has become a standard in its field and remains an indispensible reference for any clinician, academic physician, or health professional who wishes to hone their writing skills. However, since its publication in 2004, significant changes have taken place in the way medical professionals communicate with each other and the world. Medical Writing: A Guide for Clinicians and Academicians, 2e retains all of the fundamental writing advice of the first edition and has been expanded to include two brand new chapters:How to Write a Research Protocol (including why a research project needs a written protocol, elements of the research protocol and common problems)How to Write a Grant Proposal (including sections on government and private grant funding sources, what you need to know about grant writing, and elements of a successful grant proposal) New information is also included throughout the book on becoming a successful writer, medical tables and figures, conflict of interest and disclosures, how to review a scientific article, statistical analysis, pay-to-publish journal publishing, electronic submission of manuscripts, issues in medical publishing and the future of medical writing and publication. New appendices address commonly encountered research and statistical terms and memorable aphorisms regarding writing, medical and otherwise.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
Call Number: Z253 A512p 2010 Newark Reference
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
The Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association is the style manual of choice for writers, editors, students, and educators in the social and behavioral sciences. It provides invaluable guidance on all aspects of the writing process, from the ethics of authorship to the word choice that best reduces bias in language. Well-known for its authoritative and easy-to-use reference and citation system, the Publication Manual also offers guidance on choosing the headings, tables, figures, and tone that will result in strong, simple, and elegant scientific communication. The sixth edition offers new and expanded instruction on publication ethics, statistics, journal article reporting standards, electronic reference formats, and the construction of tables and figures. The sixth edition has been revised and updated to include new ethics guidance on such topics as determining authorship and terms of collaboration, duplicate publication, plagiarism and self-plagiarism, disguising of participants, validity of instrumentation, and making data available to others for verification; new journal article reporting standards to help readers report empirical research with clarity and precision; simplified APA heading style to make it more conducive to electronic publication; updated guidelines for reducing bias in language to reflect current practices and preferences, including a new section on presenting historical language that is inappropriate by present standards; new guidelines for reporting inferential statistics and a significantly revised table of statistical abbreviations new instruction on using supplemental files containing lengthy data sets and other media; significantly expanded content on the electronic presentation of data to help readers understand the purpose of each kind of display and choose the best match for communicating the results of the investigation, with new examples for a variety of data displays, includi