QuickSearch
Databases/E-references
CQ Researcher is a collection of weekly research reports on recent news topics and issues of broad interest in the public policy sphere. Search for "women in STEM"
The History Makers is a collection of oral histories of prominent African Americans.
Newspaper Articles
Factiva is a powerful database to search for newspaper articles. For additional tips on how to search Factiva, consult this research guide. The date range is prompted to "in the last month" but can be changed to a longer period, up to "last 5 years."
Proquest Historical Newspapers: Combined Search searches simultaneously Chicago Defender, the Courier Post, the New York Times, the Philadelphia Inquirer, the Pittsburgh Gazette, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New Jersey Collection.
Select Sources
Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World by
Request a free 30-day online trial to this title at www.sagepub.com/freetrialThe Encyclopedia of Women in Today's World looks at women today and delves into contexts of being female in the 21st century. The scope of the Encyclopedia focuses on women's status starting approximately in the year 2000 and going forward. From A-to-Z, this work covers the spectrum of defining women in the contemporary world. Signed entries (with cross-references and recommended readings) cover the full range of issues in contemporary women's studies, with volumes including information relevant to the following academic disciplinary contexts: arts and media; business and economics; criminal justice; education; family studies; health; media; military; politics; science and technology; sports; religion; and women in different cultures and countries.
Call Number: RU-onlineISBN: 9781412976855Publication Date: 2011
International Encyclopedia of Women Scientists by
"The International Encyclopedia of Women Scientists is an invaluable and authoritative resource for students of science and women's studies
Call Number: Douglass Q141.O27 2002ISBN: 9780816043811
Women Scientists by
Magdolna Hargittai uses over fifteen years of in-depth conversation with female physicists, chemists, biomedical researchers, and other scientists to form cohesive ideas on the state of the modern female scientist. The compilation, based on sixty conversations, examines unique challenges thatwomen with serious scientific aspirations face. In addition to addressing challenges and the unjustifiable underrepresentation of women at the higher levels of academia, Hargittai takes a balanced approach by discussing how some of the most successful of these women have managed to obtainprofessional success and personal happiness.Women Scientists portrays scientists from different backgrounds, different geographical regions-eighteen countries from four continents-and leaders from a variety of professional backgrounds, including eight Nobel laureate women. The book is divided into three sections: "Husband and Wife Teams,""Women at the Top," and "In High Positions." Hargittai uses her own experience to introduce her first section on the lives of prominent scientific couples and addresses the joys and disadvantages of husband and wife teams. The second section is a comprehensive exploration of the struggles andtriumphs of "women at the top." Hargittai introduces women from countries where relatively little has been written about female scientists. The final section focuses on women scientists involved with science administration and leadership. Hargittai's biographical sketches role models for buddingscientists. The book is a much needed account of female presence and influence in the sciences.
Call Number: RU-online and Alexander Q130.H376 2015ISBN: 9780199359981Publication Date: 2015
Women Scientists in America by
The third volume of Margaret W. Rossiter's landmark survey of the history of American women scientists focuses on their pioneering efforts and contributions from 1972 to the present. Central to this story are the struggles and successes of women scientists in the era of affirmative action. Scores of previously isolated women scientists were suddenly energized to do things they had rarely, if ever, done before--form organizations and recruit new members, start rosters and projects, put out newsletters, confront authorities, and even fight (and win) lawsuits. Rossiter follows the major activities of these groups in several fields--from engineering to the physical, biological, and social sciences--and their campaigns to raise consciousness, see legislation enforced, lobby for passage of the Equal Rights Amendment, and serve as watchdogs of the media. This comprehensive volume also covers the changing employment circumstances in the federal government, academia, industry, and the nonprofit sector and discusses contemporary battles to increase the number of women members of the National Academy of Science and women presidents of scientific societies. In writing this book, Rossiter mined nearly one hundred previously unexamined archival collections and more than fifty oral histories. With the thoroughness and resourcefulness that characterize the earlier volumes, she recounts the rich history of the courageous and resolute women determined to realize their scientific ambitions.
Call Number: Douglass Q130.R6835 2012ISBN: 9781421402338
Balm in Gilead: journey of a healer by
Written by her daughter and Harvard sociologist Sara Lawrence Lightfoot, this biography of her mother Margaret Lawrence traces the life and career of a Black pioneering psychotherapist and pediatrician. Dr. Lawrence overcame many hurdles, including rejection by Cornell Medical School. She graduated from Columbia Medical School and worked under the guidance of the renown pediatrician Dr. Benjamin Spock.
Call Number: Alexander RC339.52.L39L54 1988ISBN: 9780140249675
