Music and Performing Arts Librarian
New Plays
About this guide
This is a general guide to the print and online resources for theater studies in Rutgers Library system. Our online catalog QuickSearch searches all print material and most electronic resources. It also searches all media material, analog and digital. Most print materials, including books, print journals and reference material are on the ground floor (one flight down from the entrance level) of Douglass Library. Video and audio recordings are located in the Media Center also on the ground floor.
Best Places to Start
- QuickSearchQuickSearch is the main portal to library resources through Rutgers University. Use this link or the search box below to get started.
- MLA International BibliographyThe Modern Language Association's bibliography covers more than just literature. You can use this database to search for topics related to performance, drama, theater, dance or popular culture.
- JSTORAn online collection of digitized journals from many different fields and disciplines. Anything you find here will be full-text, but you won't find everything on your topic in JSTOR (the most recent years are missing and JSTOR does not digitize all journals).
- National Theatre CollectionNational Theatre Collection contains 50 high-definition streaming videos of live theatre productions by the U.K.’s National Theatre, accompanied by archival materials such as prompt scripts and costume designs. It includes both productions of new works by contemporary playwrights and new productions of classic plays, including Greek theatre, works by Shakespeare, and 20th century classics.
- Google ScholarSearches peer-reviewed papers, dissertations, books, preprints, reports from academic publishers, professional societies, universities and other scholarly organizations.
New York Times Account
- New York Times Student AccountsStudents at Rutgers are able to sign up for free accounts for the New York Times through Rutgers Libraries. Follow this link for information on how to set up your account.
The New York Times includes some of the most comprehensive theater coverage of any publication in the country and is very useful for keeping up with the industry. - Historical New York TimesRutgers Libraries also has access to every issue of the New York Times back to its founding in 1851, which can be helpful for research projects and reading reviews of many original productions.