Resources for Theatrical Design
This page lists resources that are available through the libraries or online that may be useful for theatrical design.
These include primary sources for inspiration, technical manuals, and information about various styles.
You can also search across the entire Rutgers University Libraries using the QuickSearch bar below.
QuickSearch
Browse the Collections
Browsing the collections in the Rutgers University Libraries can be an excellent way to come across inspiration and background information for your designs.
The Libraries are organized by the Library of Congress call number system, which organizes books by subject. The call number ranges below will be helpful, but there may be more specific ranges for your production in the entire LOC outline.
Most relevant sections:
-
GT – Fashion
-
GT1740 – Theatrical Costumes
-
-
N – Visual Arts
-
NA – Architecture
-
NK – Decorative Art
-
Includes religious art, furniture, rugs and carpets, tapestries, wallpaper, ceramics, costumes, glass, textiles, woodwork
-
-
PN 1600 - PN 3307 – Drama
-
PN 2085 - PN 2091 – Stagecraft, lighting, scenery design
-
-
TR – Photography
-
TS – Manufactures
-
TT – Handicraft
- Includes furniture making, metalworking, clothing manufacture, hair dressing, beauty culture
-
TT 507 – Costume and fashion design
Primary Source Magazines in the Libraries
Douglass Library Bound Periodicals (ordered by Title)
- Vogue (1966-1976)Also available online
General Image Resources
- Art and Architecture PortalA&AePortal is a collection of over 250 art, architecture, design, and photography e-books and over 32,000 images of art objects. The e-books are major works in the history of art, architecture, decorative arts, photography, and design.
- Trade Catalogues and the American HomeTrade Catalogues and the American Home is a collection of digitized catalogues, pamphlets, trade cards, and other marketing materials originally directed toward the American consumer, from 1850-1950.
- Heilbrunn Timeline of Art HistoryGet an overview of art, textiles, and decorative objects from cultures all over the world, along with 1,000 in-depth essays about art.
- Finding Images Research GuideGuide from the Rutgers University Libraries on finding images online
- ArtstorArtstor Classifications related to Theatre Design:
Decorative Arts, Utilitarian Objects and Interior Design
Fashion, Costume and Jewelry
Graphic Design and Illustration
Performing Arts (including Performance Art)
Sample Artstor Collections related to Theatre:
Carnegie Arts of the United States
Historical Scenic Design (Alexander Adducci)
Library of Congress
Magnum Photos: Contemporary Photojournalism
World War I and II Posters and Postcards (University of Minnesota Libraries)
Victoria and Albert Museum Collection
Lighting Resources
- The Lighting ArchiveThe Lighting Archive website is developing a collection of actual plots, focus charts, cue sheets from real shows. It places an emphasis on historical productions and designers who have made important contributions to the field.
- Theatrical Lighting DatabaseThis collection contains actual plots, focus charts, cue sheets and much more from four landmark productions digitized from the collections of the New York Public Library.
- Books on Stage LightingThis search displays most of the books available on Stage Lighting in the Rutgers University Libraries' collections
Costume Design Resources
- Vogue ArchiveThe Vogue Archive contains every issue of the American magazine Vogue published from 1892 (its first issue) to one month ago, including all covers, articles, illustrations, advertisements, fold-outs, and anything else that appeared in the original edition.
- Vintage Fashion GuildThe Vintage Fashion Guild (VFG) is an international organization dedicated to the promotion and preservation of vintage fashion. They have many visual resources for fabric, vintage hats, and lingerie.
- Costume Institute Fashion PlatesThis collection contains digitized fashion plates from the Irene Lewisohn Costume Reference Library at the Metropolitan Museum of Art. The plates feature men's, women's, and children's fashion and date between 1700 and 1955.
- Harper's BazaarDigital copy of Harper's Bazaar, a monthly American fashion magazine dating back to 1867.
- Royal Victoria and Albert Museum Costume CollectionSearch the costume collection of the Royal Victoria and Albert Museum from the mid-18th century to today.
- Commercial Pattern ArchiveCoPA-Online contains over 55,000 scanned images (garments & pattern schematics) from 61,000 commercially produced patterns, dating back to 1847.
- Books on Costume DesignThis search displays most of the books available on Costume Design in the Rutgers University Libraries' collections
Set Design Resources
- Motley Collection of Theatre and Costume DesignThis collection has hundreds of set designs from 1932 to 1976 for plays by Shakespeare and modern classics, opera, ballet, and motion pictures.
- Books on Scenic DesignThis search displays most of the books available on Scenic Design in the Rutgers University Libraries' collections