Resources for M1 Self-Directed Learning
This guide provides you with links to e-textbooks, study tools, tutorials, multimedia, and other authoritative resources available to you through Rutgers Libraries to assist your case-based and self-directed learning during the first year of medical schoo
Required Textbooks
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: BiochemistryCall Number: e-BookISBN: 9781496344496Publication Date: 2017
Color Atlas of HistologyCall Number: QS517. G244cISBN: 9780781788724Publication Date: 2009Textbook available at Smith Library and Library of Science and Medicine.
Histology and Cell Biology: an Introduction to PathologyCall Number: e-BookISBN: 032367321XPublication Date: 2019
Recommended Resources
- E-Textbooks ListAccess full text, electronic versions of microbiology and immunology e-textbooks.
- AccessMedicineProvides an online collection of key medical reference e-books with coverage that includes basic sciences and clinical texts.
Harper's Illustrated Biochemistry, 31st ed.Call Number: e-BookISBN: 9781259837937Publication Date: 2018
Medical Nutrition and Disease: A Case Based ApproachCall Number: e-BookISBN: 111865241XPublication Date: 2014
Study Tools
- AccessMedicine FlashcardsCreate username/password to customize interactive flashcards for studying biochemistry, GI physiology, microbiology and other topics.
Gastrointestinal Physiology 2/eCall Number: e-BookISBN: 9780071774017Publication Date: 2014Use review questions to create a random or a customized quiz.- Harper's Illustrated BiochemistryCall Number: e-BookISBN: 9781259837937Publication Date: 2018Use review questions to create a random or a customized quiz.
Integrative Medical Biochemistry: Examination and Board ReviewCall Number: e-BookISBN: 9780071786126Use review questions to create a random or customized quiz.
The Big Picture: Medical BiochemistryCall Number: e-BookISBN: 9780071637916Use review questions to create a random or customized quiz.
Essential Histology ReviewCall Number: QS518.2.E78ISBN: 9780865424876Publication Date: 1996Available at Library of Science and Medicine and Robert Wood Johnson Library of the Health Sciences.
Resources for Locating Background Information
Locate background information online using library resources such as e-textbooks, evidence summaries, drug directories, guides to diagnostic tests, and review articles.
- AccessMedicineThis is an online collection of key medical textbooks and drug database.
- ClinicalKeyProvides access to e-textbooks, clinical practice guidelines, and FirstConsult reviews.
- Cochrane LibrarySearch by topic or medical subject terms to locate systematic reviews and protocols in health care.
- DynamedThis clinical reference tool integrates evidence based medicine with practical information for clinical practice on more than 3,200 clinical topics.
- Essential Evidence PlusA database of filtered, synopsized, evidence-based information, this integrated search engine allows you to simultaneously search guidelines, topics, summaries.
- UptoDateSearch by topic for overviews of diseases and conditions, drugs/drug interactions, and links to e-textbook content.