Skip to main content
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Rutgers Dissertations and Theses: Ph.D. & Masters

A guide to identifying and locating Rutgers dissertations and theses from the earliest years to the present day.

General Information

The largest collection of Rutgers University dissertations and theses is non-circulating and is maintained by the Rutgers University Archives, part of Special Collections and University Archives (SC/UA), which is housed in the lower level of the Alexander Library. For some time periods and some categories of dissertations and theses, there may also be circulating copies.

Beginning with submissions from 2007, many dissertations and theses are accessible full-text online through the Library Catalog and through the Rutgers Electronic Theses and Dissertations (RUetd) site. The Library Catalog provides the most comprehensive search since it includes records for print as well as electronic dissertations and theses.

NOTE: A Rutgers dissertation or thesis is available for interlibrary loan (ILL) if there is a copy in the circulating collections.

Rutgers Doctoral Dissertations and Master's Theses

Search the Library Catalog to find locations and call numbers for print copies of dissertations and theses as well links to the full-text of electronic dissertations and theses. Tips for searching the Library Catalog are included in a separate section of this guide.

  • Rutgers Doctoral dissertations and Master's theses have generally been treated like books, that is, cataloged and shelved in the appropriate library (e.g., music to Music Library, most social sciences and humanities to Alexander Library, Camden graduate programs to Robeson Library, etc.). In 2007, the ongoing transition to electronic dissertations and theses was begun.
    • NOTE: Master's theses in Art History are not cataloged but are available at the Art Library, shelved alphabetically by author from 1970 forward.
  • Beginning with October 2007 degree date submissions, dissertations and theses that represent a terminal degree from the Graduate School - New Brunswick are no longer sent to the libraries in paper format, but are instead added to RUcore as part of the Rutgers Electronic Theses and Dissertations (RUetd) project. Other graduate schools, including the Graduate School — Newark, the Camden Graduate School, the Edward J. Bloustein School of Planning and Public Policy, the Graduate School of Education, and the Graduate School of Applied and Professional Psychology, are participating in the program as well. The Mason Gross School of the Arts has made electronic submission optional. 
    • Please note that, regardless of submission date, electronic theses and dissertations are not made available online until after the actual date of graduation.
      • Submissions from January graduates will be available via the RUcore site around the end of March and will be listed in the Library Catalog approximately two weeks later.
      • Submissions from May graduates will be available via the RUcore site around the end of September and will be listed in the Library Catalog approximately two weeks later.
      • Submissions from October graduates will be available via the RUcore site around mid-January and will be listed in the Library Catalog approximately two weeks later.
      • Access to an electronic dissertation or thesis may sometimes be delayed at the request of the author. The most common reasons are because they intend to publish the dissertation or because it supports a patent application. In these cases, a record with descriptive information and a full abstract will still be included in the RUcore site and in the Library Catalog.
    • Search the Library Catalog or the RUcore site to find electronic theses and dissertations. The Library Catalog provides the most comprehensive search since it includes records for print as well as electronic dissertations and theses.
RU Electronic Theses and Dissertations (RUetd)
[Search the repository (RUcore) for Rutgers ETDs.]
 
Advanced Search  

 

 

  • The Dissertations & Theses Global [Rutgers Restricted] database from ProQuest/UMI has a separately searchable component for Dissertations & Theses @ Rutgers University [Rutgers Restricted]. Both versions of the database include the full-text of Rutgers Doctoral dissertations starting with titles submitted to University Microfilms in 1997--some earlier titles are also included full-text. The database is available from any Rutgers computer or from off campus. Copies of Rutgers dissertations and theses may also be purchased from ProQuest/UMI using the order option in Dissertations & Theses Global [Rutgers Restricted] or the ordering information available at ProQuest's Dissertation Express site.

Early RU Dissertations and Theses and Archival Master Copies

  • For early dissertations and theses that do not appear in the Library Catalog, and that are not available full-text in Dissertations & Theses Global [Rutgers Restricted], consult the Rutgers University Archives. The Archives has a master list of Rutgers dissertations and theses from 1924-1985 that includes separate author, title, and department indices. This inventory is comprehensive but not complete, as it does not include all Master's theses completed at Rutgers. Individual schools may also maintain their own lists of dissertations and theses (e.g., School of Communication and Information: Dissertation and Accomplishments). Other bibliographies of Rutgers dissertations and theses include:
    • RU theses and dissertations in Special Collections and Archives - see Catalog record
    • Index to doctoral dissertations, 1912-1981: keyword and author indexes - see Catalog record
  • Archival master copies of Doctoral dissertations and Master's theses that pre-date the adoption of Rutgers Electronic Theses and Dissertations (RUetd) are maintained by the Rutgers University Archives. The collection of Master's theses is less comprehensive than that of Doctoral dissertations. These materials are non-circulating, and are not listed in the Library Catalog.
    The collection includes:
    • Graduate School-New Brunswick [through spring 2002]
      Stored offsite and may be requested through the reference desk of Special Collections and University Archives in person or by phone (848-932-6159). [Note: Beginning with some 2007 submissions, dissertations and theses from the Graduate School - New Brunswick are added to RUcore as part of the Rutgers Electronic Theses and Dissertations (RUetd) collection.]
    • Other New Brunswick Graduate Schools [generally to the present]
      The most recent 2 years are kept in Special Collections and University Archives; earlier years are stored offsite and may be requested through the reference desk of Special Collections and University Archives in person or by phone (848-932-6159). [Note: Beginning with some 2007 submissions, dissertations and theses from the Graduate School - New Brunswick are added to RUcore as part of the Rutgers Electronic Theses and Dissertations (RUetd) collection.]
    • Graduate School-Newark [to the present]
      The most recent 2 years are kept in Special Collections and University Archives; earlier years are stored offsite and may be requested through the reference desk of Special Collections and University Archives in person or by phone (848-932-6159).
    • Graduate School at Camden [to the present]
      The most recent 2 years are kept in Special Collections and University Archives; earlier years are stored offsite and may be requested through the reference desk of Special Collections and University Archives in person or by phone (848/932-6159).
  • For further assistance contact the Special Collections and University Archives reference desk (848-932-6159) or the Rutgers University Archives.