Physician Assistant Program Resources
This guide contains resources for the entire Physcian Assistant program. it includes required textbooks and recommended resources.
Macromolecules and Cellular Components
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry by ISBN: 9781975155063Publication Date: 2021-04-20Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2021, 2022 and 2023! Praised by faculty and students for more than two decades, Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Biochemistry is the long-established go-to resource for mastering the essentials of biochemistry. This best-selling text helps students quickly review, assimilate, and integrate large amounts of critical and complex information, with unparalleled illustrations that bring concepts to life. Like other titles in the popular Lippincott® Illustrated Review Series, this text follows an intuitive outline organization and boasts a wealth of study aids that clarify challenging information and strengthen retention and understanding. This updated and revised edition emphasizes clinical application and features new exercises, questions, and accompanying digital resources to ready students for success on exams and beyond. NEW! Clinical Application boxes train students to confidently apply biochemistry in clinical scenarios. NEW! Cross-references to other Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews titles help students grasp how biochemical concepts relate to other basic sciences. UPDATED! Vibrant illustrations and detailed tables clarify complex biochemical concepts. NEW and UPDATED! Study Questions and Answers for each chapter test students' retention and strengthen their test-taking confidence. UPDATED! Integrative Case Studies with Review Questions familiarize students with commonly encountered clinical scenarios and alert them to potential widespread implications of presenting issues. NEW! Animations enhance students' understanding of biochemical concepts and processes with vivid detail and accuracy.
Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Immunology by ISBN: 9781975151331Publication Date: 2021-04-20Selected as a Doody's Core Title for 2022 and 2023! Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Immunology, 3rd Edition, offers an engaging, vividly illustrated presentation and all of the popular learning features of the Lippincott® Illustrated Review series to reinforce essential immunology concepts and connect basic science to real-life clinical situations. Like other titles in this series, this dynamic resource follows an intuitive outline organization and boasts a wealth of vibrant illustrations and study aids that clarify complex information and ensure retention. Whether used as a review text for a short immunology course or paired with Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews: Microbiology for a combined microbiology/immunology course, this revised and updated edition familiarizes readers with the latest practices in immunology and emphasizes clinical application to deliver unparalleled preparation for exams and clinical practice. Revised and expanded content equips you with the most current perspectives and practices in clinical immunology. More than 300 full-color, annotated illustrations clarify complex immunology concepts in vivid detail. Clinical Application boxes demonstrate the practical application of immunology concepts in clinical scenarios. Chapter Study Questions and Answers test your retention and comprehension. NEW! Cross-references to other Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews titles help you grasp how immunological concepts relate to other basic sciences. Chapter summaries and chapter overviews highlight the most important concepts and takeaways in each chapter. Updated end-of-text review questions boost your test-taking confidence.
Essentials of Medical Genetics for Nursing and Health Professionals an Interprofessional Approach by ISBN: 1284154246Publication Date: 2018-09-14Essentials of Medical Genetics for Nursing and Other Health Professionals: An Interprofessional Approach is a concise introduction to genetics clinically applicable to nursing students as well as students in other healthcare professions. The text employs an accelerated approach to understanding the fundamentals of genetics, even those with limited knowledge on the topic will find this a beneficial resource. The content is aligned to the ANA's Essential Genetic and Genomic Competencies and begins with a review of DNA, RNA, protein synthesis, chromosomes, and inheritance patterns. In addition, it takes a clinical focus on specific diseases and groups of disease processes. Each disease chapter focuses on the molecular basis of the disease, the signs and symptoms of the disease, surveillance recommendations, treatment options for the disease, and other disorders. Coverage of diagnostic techniques, embryology and teratogens, diagnostic techniques for genetic testing, prenatal screening, genetics counseling and the ethical, legal, and social issues that surround human genetics and genomics is also included.Key Features: Aligned to the ANA's Essentials of Genetic and Genomic CompetenciesDiagnostic techniques for genetic testingTables and figures which reinforce comprehensionInterprofessional contributor list across several health specialties
Concepts of Biology by ISBN: 9781938168116Publication Date: 2013-01-01Concepts of Biology is designed for the typical introductory biology course for nonmajors, covering standard scope and sequence requirements. The text includes interesting applications and conveys the major themes of biology, with content that is meaningful and easy to understand. The book is designed to demonstrate biology concepts and to promote scientific literacy.
Biology for AP® Courses by ISBN: 9781947172418Publication Date: Mar 08, 2018Biology for AP® Courses covers the scope and sequence requirements of a typical two-semester Advanced Placement® biology course. The text provides comprehensive coverage of foundational research and core biology concepts through an evolutionary lens. Biology for AP® Courses was designed to meet and exceed the requirements of the College Board’s AP® Biology framework while allowing significant flexibility for instructors. Each section of the book includes an introduction based on the AP® curriculum and includes rich features that engage students in scientific practice and AP® test preparation; it also highlights careers and research opportunities in biological sciences.
Anatomy and Physiology by ISBN: 9781947172043Publication Date: 2013-04-25Anatomy and Physiology is a dynamic textbook for the two-semester human anatomy and physiology course for life science and allied health majors. The book is organized by body system and covers standard scope and sequence requirements. Its lucid text, strategically constructed art, career features, and links to external learning tools address the critical teaching and learning challenges in the course. The web-based version of Anatomy and Physiology also features links to surgical videos, histology, and interactive diagrams.
Textbook of Histology by ISBN: 9780323672726Publication Date: 2020-03-24Textbook of Histology, 5th Edition, brings you up to date with all that's new in the field, while providing a solid foundation in the basic science and clinical application of cellular and molecular biology. Concise and highly illustrated, it functions as both a text and a histology laboratory guide and remains the only histology textbook that includes laboratory exercises for nearly every chapter. . Numerous new clinical observations illustrate the importance of histology to clinical practice. . More than 170 photomicrographs as well as new drawings, and histology laboratory instructions in most chapters have been added to this edition. . Greatly revised content includes new findings in cellular and molecular biology such as the newly discovered endoplasmic reticulum-shaping proteins, the abundance of stem cells in adipose tissue, the phases of Alzheimer's disease and the role of the newly discovered glymphatic system in slowing the progression of the disease, and developments in the microbiome. . More quick-reference tables have been added to summarize information discussed in the text. . A combination of USMLE-style questions and image-based questions are found in each chapter of the digital edition
How the Immune System Works by ISBN: 9781119542193Publication Date: 2019-01-30NOTE: One user permitted at a time
How the Immune System Works has helped thousands of students understand what's in their hefty immunology textbooks. In this book, Dr. Sompayrac cuts through the jargon and details to reveal, in simple language, the essence of this complex subject: how the immune system fits together, how it protects us from disease and, perhaps most importantly, why it works the way it does. Featuring Dr. Sompayrac's hallmark lively prose and engaging analogies, How the Immune System Works has been rigorously updated for this sixth edition, including the latest information on subjects such as vaccines, immunological memory, and cancer. A highlight of this edition is a new chapter on immunotherapies - currently one of the hottest topics in immunology. Whether you are completely new to immunology, or require a refresher, How the Immune System Works will provide you with a clear and engaging overview of this fascinating subject.
