Comm 380 Public Speaking
Ask Yourself:
Is this a topic I have always wanted to know more about?
Does this topic meet the requirements of my project?
Tips
Select a topic you find interesting. If you find a topic compelling, the research and writing process may be more satisfying for you.
If you pick a problem or issue that is too general, you won't be able to adequately cover it in your assignment. If you select a problem or issue that is too narrow, you may have trouble finding helpful sources to inform your assignment.
Background Information Serves Many Purposes
- If you are unfamiliar with the topic, it provides a good overview of the subject matter.
- It helps you to identify important facts related to your topic such as terminology, dates, events, history, and relevant names or organizations.
- It can help you refine your topic.
- Background research might lead you to bibliographies that you can use to find additional sources of information.
Acquire Basic Knowledge and Consider:
What terms do you need to know to better understand this issue?
Who is affected by issue?
What are the main controversies associated with the issue?
Who are the key figures and organizations surrounding this issue?
What significant events have occurred related to this issue?
Contact a Librarian
Research can be seen as a series of linked activities moving from a beginning to an end. It usually begins with the identification of a problem followed by formulation of research questions or objectives. The researcher determines what information to collect and how it will be analyzed in order to answer the research question.
Described in this way the research process seems linear, yet research is often an iterative (repeating) process. Decisions made early in the research process are often revisited in the light of new insights or practical problems encountered along the way.
The following reference and database resources are useful to identify topics, overviews, background information, concepts, theories, ideas, and key references:
- Access World NewsCovers newspapers and news wires across the world.
- CQ ResearcherFocuses on topics considered newsworthy or issues of broad interest to the general public.
- FactivaCovers newspapers; magazines; trade journals; newsletters; and television and radio transcripts focusing on business.
- Gale eBooksIncludes topical overviews; essays; book chapters; primary documents; specialized encyclopedia articles; and other sources.
- Sage ReferenceA large collection of authoritative encyclopedias, dictionaries, and handbooks in a broad range of fields including multidisciplinary areas such as anthropology, environment, health, and psychology.
- Subject EncyclopediasAccess one of many subject encyclopedias available through Rutgers University Libraries.
More Resources for Topic Ideas
Pro-Con
Social Trends
Politics
New York Times political coverage
Create your free NYT subscription account by clicking the link in the library website: https://www.libraries.rutgers.edu/indexes/nyt-digital
Science Developments
Technology Developments
International News
Interesting and Unusual Research Ideas
Local Issues
The following books explore issues in a variety of areas. They can provide background information and an overview of the "conversation":
Big Data, Big Challenges: A Healthcare Perspective Background, Issues, Solutions and Research Directions by ISBN: 9783030061098Publication Date: 2019
Issues in Business Ethics and Corporate Social Responsibility by ISBN: 9781544397351Publication Date: 2020-05-04
Science and Political Controversy: a Reference Handbook by
The U.S. government has historically been the engine of American scientific achievement, from the birth of nuclear technology to the "space race." However, at times, our government has also misrepresented scientific evidence to advance a political agenda. Science and Political Controversy: A Reference Handbook examines how the government has facilitated research for the public good and the ways in which politicians have manipulated data to serve political ends around a broad array of controversies, from stem cell research to energy development, chemical health risks, and climate change. Written specifically for high school students and general readers without specialized background knowledge on the subject, the work presents perspective essays authored by representatives from governmental agencies, politicians, political scientists, experts in the physical and life sciences, and other stakeholders concerned with the intersection of politics and science. The first section of the book provides background information on the topic that overviews the current problems and issues related to the interaction of science and politics. The second section supplies resources that readers can use for their own research, such as an annotated bibliography, profiles of important individuals and organizations, a chronology of important events, and a glossary of key terms.
ISBN: 9781610693202Publication Date: 2014-04-21
