Research Guides: Comm 380 Public Speaking : Article Databases

While some databases search a wide range of topics, others are narrower in scope. Once you have constructed some possible search strings, you may want to search in a subject specific database.

Subject specific databases focus on a single academic discipline or a group of related disciplines. Their results are more targeted because they are limited to the subject area you are searching and may have customized search options specific to the discipline.

Click on the discipline to jump to its database list

Multidisciplinary Business & Economics Communication & Mass Media Education Law & Criminal Justice Medicine & Health Psychology Science:Environmental/Agriculture/Biology Science: General Social Work Sociology & Political Science Technology & Engineering Women's & Gender Studies

Multidisciplinary Indexes

Academic Search premier
This index covers most academic disciplines, however it will not meet all your needs. Be sure to search discipline-specific indexes.
Google Scholar
A Google search engine focused on scholarly articles, books, and book chapters Lacks the precision of subject specific databases. Helpful for citation tracing.
JSTOR
A platform for journals, books, and primary sources in a wide variety of subject areas in the arts, humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Project Muse
A platform for scholarly journals and ebooks in the arts, humanities, and social sciences. Fields covered include cultural studies, economics, education, gender studies, history, political science, literature and literary criticism, visual and performing arts, and many others.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection
The parent collection that contains all social sciences content available through ProQuest. It covers anthropology, criminology, economics, education, international relations, library science, linguistics, political science, public policy, social work, sociology, and more.

Business & Economics

Business Source Premier
It covers most business and management topics including accounting, banking, economics, finance, international trade, marketing, and public administration.
EconLit
EconLit indexes and abstracts more than 750 international economic journals. 1969 to present.
Factiva
Factiva is an archive of major global newspapers, magazines, reports, and other publications, focusing on business.
IBISWorld
Is an industry research database. It contains reports on industries in the following markets: China, Global, and U.S.
Mintel
Includes Mintel Reports, which are product and industry market research reports covering U.S. and international marketplaces.

Communication & Mass Media

Communication & Mass Media Complete
It offers full-text coverage for more than 280 titles plus citation coverage for many more.
ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection
Is the parent collection that contains all social sciences content available through ProQuest.

Education

ERIC - Education Resources Information Center
It is a national online digital library sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences (IES) of the U.S. Department of Education. The largest education database in the world,
ProQuest Education Database
A collection of scholarship and research in a wide range of educational topics.

Law & Criminal Justice

Criminal Justice Abstracts
Provides comprehensive coverage of criminal justice, criminology, and related disciplines from 1968 to the present, and is updated quarterly.
HeinOnline
A legal research collection that includes scholarly legal and criminal justice journals, government publications, classical legal volumes, and related materials.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts Database
Contains abstracts of more than 200,000 justice publications, including Federal, State and Local government reports, books, research reports, journal articles, documents and unpublished research on a wide range of criminal justice topics.
Westlaw Campus Research
It is especially useful for legal research, as well as for current news coverage and business.

Medicine & Health

BioMed Central (BMC)
An open access platform publishing peer-reviewed journals in the areas of biomedicine, physical sciences, mathematics, and engineering.
CINAHL with Full Text
Provides comprehensive coverage of the nursing and allied health journal literature.
Cochrane Library
Premier source for systematic reviews. Contains systemic reviews, protocols, editorials, and supplements.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts
The premier resource for all aspects of food science including biotechnology, food safety, functional and novel foods, food additives, nutrition, and packaging.
Nature Portfolio
home to Nature magazine and many other science and medicine journals, including various Nature subject-specific journals, Nature Reviews journals, specialist journals, and open access journals.
PubMed
A database of more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Psychology

PsycInfo
Covers literature in psychology and related disciplines including: medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, medicine, education, social work, law, criminology, social science, and organizational behavior.
PubMed
A database of more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Science: Environmental/Agriculture/Biology

Agricola
An index produced by the National Agricultural Library that covers all aspects of agriculture.
CAB Abstracts
An index of research in the applied life sciences.
Environmental Science Collection
A collection of scholarship in environmental sciences, including relevant research from the fields of atmospheric science, bacteriology, biology, biotechnology, ecology, and engineering.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts
The premier resource for all aspects of food science including biotechnology, food safety, functional and novel foods, food additives, nutrition, and packaging.
GreenFILE
Provides information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Topics covered include climate change, green buildings, pollution, sustainability, renewable energy sources and recycling.
New Jersey Environmental Digital Library (NJEDL)
A collection of literature and multimedia related to the New Jersey environment. It includes current news and reports as well as historic information.
ProQuest Biological Science Collection
Contains scholarship on a wide range of topics in biological sciences, including biomedicine, biotechnology, ecology, zoology, and aspects of agriculture and veterinary science.

Science: General

Nature Portfolio
home to Nature magazine and many other science and medicine journals, including various Nature subject-specific journals, Nature Reviews journals, specialist journals, and open access journals.
ScienceDirect
ScienceDirect, the full-text sciences periodicals database from Elsevier, contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.

Social Work

ProQuest Social Science Premium Collection
Contains all social sciences content available through ProQuest including social work.
Social Services Abstracts
Coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.

Sociology & Political Science

Alcohol Studies Database
Covering biomedical and psychosocial aspects of alcohol use, as well as a growing number of records on other drug use/abuse.
PAIS Index
Coverage of public affairs, public and social policies, and international relations.
ProQuest Sociology Database
A collection of scholarship in sociology and social work, including related fields such as social policy, social care, social services, social anthropology, and more.
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, sociology, economics, and public administration/policy.

Technology & Engineering

ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library
Covers various fields related to computing, including software, hardware, computational theory, artificial intelligence, information science, human-computer interaction, instructional technology, and the research and development communities involved in computing.
Compendex
The most comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research available today.
Food Science and Technology Abstracts
The premier resource for all aspects of food science including biotechnology, food safety, functional and novel foods, food additives, nutrition, and packaging.
IEEE Explore
Covers more than 30% of the world's literature in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science, information science, materials science, physical sciences and biomedical engineering.

Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies

Gender: Identity and Social Change
A collection of digitized primary sources depicting gender history, women’s suffrage, the feminist movement, and the men’s movement.
GenderWatch
Access to citations and full text resources on the topics of women and gender, including gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) issues.
The Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs
Collection documents feminist thought and initiative around the world through more than 4,000 monographs and 300 periodicals.
Women's Studies International
Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.