Physics and Astronomy

• If you find the Rutgers online catalog and E-ZBorrow too limiting, consider searching WorldCat for books. Additionally, Rutgers participates in Cooperative Access Arrangements.
• WorldCat
  A catalog of library collections from around the world
• Cooperative Access Arrangements
  Receive on-site and/or borrowing privileges at academic institutions

If you are interested in browsing the shelves of the library for books, keep in mind the Library of Congress classification system:

If the book you want is not available in your library, but is available through another Rutgers library, you can have it delivered to you at your library, free of charge:

1. From within the QuickSearch system, search for the book.
2. Sign in to view request options, then click the Request Item button. 
3. For Pickup Location, select your preferred library - or choose Personal Delivery to your Home Address.

If Rutgers University Libraries does not own or subscribe to the book you want (or it's already been checked out by someone else), see if it is available through E-ZBorrow.  If not, see if it is available through UBorrow.  If you are unsuccessful in finding the book in either system, request it via Interlibrary Loan.

Reference books such as encyclopedias are a great place to do some preliminary research.  You can get a good overview about your topic, perhaps narrow down your topic if it was too broad before, and most importantly, identify search terms to use when you begin your search for books and/or articles.

Here are some PRINT reference works. For items in the Libraries Annex, request Book Delivery by signing into your library account. Reference items can circulate for 2-4 days with special permission. Please inquire at the circulation desk, or e-mail me at laura.palumbo@rutgers.edu.

• Encyclopedia of Astronomy and Astrophysics
  • Mathematical Sciences and Physics Library, REF section, Call number: QB14.E54 2001
• Encyclopedia of Physical Science and Technology (3rd ed.)
  • Library of Science and Medicine, REF section, Call number: Q123.E497 2002
• Handbook of Magnetism and Advanced Magnetic Materials
  • Libraries Annex, Call number: QC753.2.H36 2007
• Handbook of Optics
  • 3rd ed. - Mathematical Sciences and Physics Library, REF section, Call number: QC369.H35 2010
• Handbook of Particle Physics
  • Mathematical Sciences and Physics Library, REF section, Call number: QC783.S86 2001
• McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Physics (2nd ed.)
  • Libraries Annex, Call number: QC5.M425 1993
• Tables of Physical and Chemical Constants and Some Mathematical Functions (Kaye and Laby)
  • Library of Science and Medicine, Stacks, Call number: QC61.K3 1986
  • Note: an archived version of Kaye and Laby Online is available here.