Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New Jersey Maps
Maps of New Jersey
"The Maps of New Jersey portal charts over 300 years of the state’s development from multiple perspectives: geographic, geologic, political, environmental, historical. This “virtual collection” of maps is an aggregation of cartographic materials drawn from multiple collections within RUcore – The Rutgers University Community Repository."
Changing Landscape of New Brunswick
Links to photos, maps, and panoramic views of New Brunswick. Designed as a companion site to a 2002 exhibition in Rutgers' Alexander Library.
Digital Sanborn Maps: New Jersey [Rutgers Restricted]
Large-scale maps of 265 New Jersey cities ranging from 1884 to the 1950s. These fire insurance maps show the outline of individual buildings along with related information. Some of the maps are also freely available via Princeton University; the starting point is an Excel spreadsheet
. Map coverage varies by city.
Historical Maps of New Jersey (Rutgers Cartography Dept.)
A collection of local and state historical maps, with links to related resources.
Maps [NJ State and County]
GIS maps for each county plus topical maps of congressional boundaries, legislative districts, the highway system, and more from the New Jersey Department of Transportation.
NJDEP GIS - Applications
Interactive mapping tools from the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection. Provides information about neighborhoods, counties, or the state as a whole.
NJDH - New Jersey Digital Highway
A searchable collection of digital versions of historical maps of New Jersey. Uncheck all but the Map Collection to limit a search to maps only.
NJ Flood Mapper
An interactive mapping website to visualize coastal flooding hazards and sea level rise.
Sanborn Maps: New Jersey - Library of Congress
The New Jersey portion of the "searchable database of the fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company housed in the collections of the Geography and Map Division. The online checklist is based upon the Library's 1981 publication Fire Insurance Maps in the Library of Congress and will be continually updated to reflect new acquisitions."
Sanborn Maps: New Jersey - Princeton University
New Jersey Sanborn maps listed by County, Town/City, and Year.
Includes information on a variety of maps including both topographic and thematic maps of NJ, maps from the US Geological Survey, and others.
New Jersey State Climatologist
New Jersey weather and climate information, including historical data.
Rutgers Weather Center
From the RU Meteorology Program, the site includes information on current weather conditions, including local radar and regional satellite images.