Music
Scores in Douglass Library
Douglass Library is home to Rutgers University New Brunswick's musical score collection. You can browse the scores on the shelf through the Library of Congress cataloging system, outlined below for music.
In general, instrumental music is organized by the number of performing forces needed:
Scores that begin with M5-M199 generally need one performer.
Scores that begin with M200, need two performers
Scores that begin with M300, need three performers
Scores that begin with M900, need nine performers
Scores from M1000-1366 need more than nine performers and are generally organized by genre or ensemble type
Vocal music is divided between sacred and secular music.
Etudes and other instructional materials can be found in MT170-MT810.
You can also search for scores at Rutgers through QuickSearch. It is recommended to use the resource type filter for "Score" either before or after a search is performed. See the QuickSearch link below.
- QuickSearchQuickSearch is the main portal to library resources through Rutgers University. Use this link or the search box below to get started.
Detailed Outline of the Shelving System for Scores
M1-1.A15 Music printed or copied in manuscript in the United States or the colonies before 1860
M2-2.3 Musical sources
M3-3.3 Collected works of individual composers
M5-1480 Instrumental music
M5 Collections
M6-175.5 One solo instrument
M176 Motion picture music
M176.5 Radio and television music
M177-990 Two or more solo instruments
M1000-1075 Orchestra
M1100-1160 String orchestra
M1200-1270 Band
M1350-1366 Other ensembles
M1375-1420 Instrumental music for children
M1470-1480 Aleatory music. Electronic music. Mixed media
M1490 Music printed or copied in manuscript before 1700
M1495-2199 Vocal music
M1495 Collections
M1497-1998 Secular vocal music
M1497 Collections
M1500-1527.8 Dramatic music
M1528-1529.5 Two or more solo voices
M1530-1609 Choruses
M1611-1624.8 One solo voice
M1625-1626 Recitations with music
M1627-1853 Folk, national and ethnic music
M1900-1985 Songs of specific groups or on specific topics
M1990-1998 Secular vocal music for children
M1999-2199 Sacred vocal music
M1999 Collections
M2000-2007 Dramatic music
M2010-2017.6 Choral services, etc.
M2018-2019.5 Two or more solo voices
M2020-2101.5 Choruses
M2102-2114.8 One solo voice
M2115-2146 Hymnals. Hymn collections
M2147-2188 Liturgy and ritual
M2190-2196 Sacred vocal music for children
M2198-2199 Popular religious and devotional music
MT170-810 Instrumental Techniques (aka etude books)
Online Scores
- Classical Scores LibraryRutgers-affiliated users only. Classical Scores Library contains thousands of scores of both public domain and in-copyright works.
- International Music Score Library Project (IMSLP)Free to any user. The IMSLP Petrucci Music Library contains scores from thousands of composers. These are user-submitted scans of works in the public domain, meaning that they can be scanned and disseminated, legally, for anyone to download and print.
- Choral Public Domain LibraryCPDL currently hosts free scores of at least 35600 choral and vocal works by at least 3549 composers. Many of these scores are editions created by volunteer editors.
- Contemporary Music Score CollectionCreated by the UCLA Music Library, this collection includes the digital, open access scores from the Contemporary Score Edition series, the first open access edition of new music published by a library, and scores from the Kaleidoscope 2020 Call for Scores, an open access collaboration with the UCLA Music Library.
- Digital Resources for Musicology - Digital Scores and ManuscriptsThis website provides links to substantial open-access projects of use to musicians and musicologists.
- Electronic and Virtual EditionsThis listing is limited to open-access projects from which music may be downloaded and in some cases searched, analyzed, listened to, visualized, and re-edited.
Searching for Scores outside of Rutgers
Many physical scores are available outside of Rutgers University Libraries. Use the links below to search for and request them to be delivered to you through the libraries.
- WorldCatWorldCat is an online catalog of libraries all over the world. It can be great to see what editions are available for any individual piece.
After searching, use the filter on the left hand side to select the format of "Musical Score."
Use ILLIAD to request physical scores that you identify in WorldCat - Interlibrary LoanInterlibrary Loan services are free to use for Rutgers students and faculty and can help you get access to items that we do not have here at Rutgers. The three options available to you below are:
Use EZBorrow to search and borrow from libraries in New Jersey and Pennsylvania
Use UBorrow to search and borrow from libraries in the Big 10
Use ILLIAD to place a request to borrow from any library (usually in the United States)