Music and Performing Arts Librarian
Welcome
Welcome to the Music Research Guide. Here you will learn about the various tools available to you through the library to start research for various projects.
Use the tabs on the left or the boxes immediately below to find information about different tools and resources.
Best Places to Start
- QuickSearchQuickSearch is the main portal to library resources through Rutgers University. Use this link or the search box below to get started.
- RILMUse RILM to search for articles on your topic. RILM is the major index for music research, and indexes the contents of most scholarly monographs, collections of essays, dissertations, and peer-reviewed journals. It does not, however, index many magazines that have popular music recording reviews.
- Classical Scores LibraryRutgers-affiliated users only. Classical Scores Library contains thousands of scores of both public domain and in-copyright works.
- Oxford Music OnlineOMO contains Grove Music Online, the most comprehensive English-language encyclopedia of music, the Encyclopedia of Popular Music Online, the Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Oxford Companion to Music. Contains biographies and works lists for composers, as well as subject entries on topics related to music, performance, history, instruments, extensive bibliographies, and more.
- Naxos Music LibraryOn-line library of more than 75,000 tracks of music from the catalog of Naxos, a leading classical music label, and selected additional labels.
QuickSearch
About the Performing Arts Library
 |
The Blanche and Irving Laurie Performing Arts Library is located in the Mabel Smith Douglass Library on Douglass Campus. It is a comprehensive research facility for music, housing books, periodicals, scores, microfilm, and sound recordings. Current holdings include 47,264 scores and 51,006 books about music and music instruction. In addition to the databases discussed below, the libraries maintain access to hundreds of current and archived periodicals (journals, magazines, newspapers) in print and online, which can be found using the libraries' website (libraries.rutgers.edu).