Linguistics
LIbrary research guide with links and information for linguistics research.
Online Indexes
- Linguistics and Language Behavior AbstractsCovers linguistic theory, syntax, phonology, semantics, psycholinguistics, sociolinguistics, and discourse analysis. Scans more than 1500 publications (including journals, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials) for relevant articles and includes items in English and thirty other languages. Also includes recently published books and web sites. Substantial abstracts given for books and articles. The best place to start.
- Anthropology PlusCoverage includes Anthropological Linguistics.
- Dissertations & Theses GlobalSearchable by author, title, subject, keyword, adviser, and institution. Dissertations entered since 1997 are available in PDF format (for sale) and offer free 24-page previews. Rutgers dissertations since 1997 can be downloaded without cost.
- ERIC - Education Resources Information CenterGood coverage of linguistics and language topics--with a particular focus on language teaching and learning.
- Google ScholarInterdisciplinary search engine for scholarly literature--articles, books, chapters, theses. Allows you to search an article and see who has cited it
- Hispanic-American Periodicals Index (HAPI)Mufti-disciplinary indexing of about 500 journals dealing with the region. Good for coverage of native American languages in Latin American scholarship.
- MLA International BibliographyIndexes critical scholarship on language and linguistics in journal articles, series, monographs, dissertations, bibliographies, proceedings and other materials. Linguistics and language materials range from history and theory of linguistics, comparative linguistics, semantics, stylistics, and syntax to translation.
- PsycInfoCovers journals, book chapters, monographs, dissertations, and technical reports in psychology and related fields, including psycholinguistics, neurolinguistics, grammar, discourse analysis, and pragmatics. International in scope. Includes the full-text of selected journals from 1988 to the present.
- ScopusCitation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature covering more than 20,000 journals. Allows researchers to see who has cited an article and to discover the citation metrics of a journal or field.
- Sociological AbstractsGood for topics like sociolinguistics and discourse analysis.
- Web of ScienceProvides citations for articles from thousands of peer reviewed journals (in all disciplines). Allows searching by author, topic, and keyword, but most important, allows searching to discover who has cited an author and how many times a particular article has been cited.
Other Indexes & Bibliographies
Print Indexes and Abstracts
While to a great extent superseded by electronic indexes, the print versions offer greater ease in browsing by sections.
- Linguistics abstracts (1985-2010)Focuses on theory and practice of general linguistics, not applied linguistics, nor the descriptive or historical study of individual languages. Quarterly issues are now arranged in 19 sections-e.g. Linguistics Theory, Semantics, Phonology, Pragmatics, Neurolinguistics, Historical Linguistics, etc. Author and journal indexes included in each issue, plus yearly cumulative indexes. Coverage not as broad as LLBA.
- Bibliographie linguistischer Literatur (1971-2015)Bibliography of Linguistic Literature. Provides citations to articles, conference proceedings, monographs, dissertations, and other works in general linguistics and all its sub-disciplines.
Bibliographies
A selection of fairly recent bibliographies.
- Anaphora: A Reference GuideCovers referential relationships in language drawing "on theoretical principles and methodologies in linguistics, cognitive psychology, and philosophy, as well as the integrated, broad perspective of cognitive science."
- Bibliography of morphology, 1960-1985Lists works published between 1960 and 1985-only published works. Arranged by author, with language and subject indexes. Aimed at both specialists and generalists.
- Bibliography of quantitative linguistics = Bibliographie zur quantitativen linguistikLists more than 6300 studies-books, journals, chapters, etc.-in various languages. Prefatory material is in English, German, and Russian. Items are arranged in 26 broad thematic chapters, with author, keyword, subject, and language indexes.
- Bibliography of the Summer Institute of LinguisticsA comprehensive listing of the works of Institute members in fields including linguistics and anthropology. The "academic" sections includes more than 8,000 works, arranged by author, with a broad subject index, plus another 12,000 citations to vernacular works in hundreds of languages.
- Clitics : a comprehensive bibliography, 1892-1991A listing of books, doctoral and master's theses (both published and unpublished), monographs, notes, articles from journals, conference volumes, working papers, and anthologies, from 1892 to 1991. Arranged alphabetically by author, but includes an analytical index.
- Diglossia : a comprehensive bibliography, 1960-1990 : and supplementsLists books, articles, book reviews, dissertations and theses. Alphabetically arranged by author, with an index by language, and additional listings of historically oriented works, pedagogically oriented works, and theoretical works. Includes some abstracts.
- Linguistics : a guide to the reference literatureLists more than one thousand key sources-dictionaries and encyclopedias; biographical works; indexes, bibliographies, and databases; directories, etc. Also includes sections listing core periodicals and research organizations and professional associations. Another major section lists works on particular languages and language groups-Indo-European, Dravidian, African, Native American, etc.
- Semantics : a bibliography, 1986-1991An annotated listing of more than 1000 studies-books, journal articles, articles in books, published conference papers. Arranged in broad chapters (e.g. Polysemy, the Semantics of Negation, Semantic Universals), with author and lexical indexes. See also two earlier volumes--Semantics : A Bibliography, 1979-1985 and Semantics: A Bibliography, 1965-1978.
- Theoretical syntax 1980-1990 : an annotated and classified bibliographyLists 900 books and articles (no dissertations or theses) all in the English language. Arranged in 10 broad chapters (morphology/phonology interface, semantics and syntax, the acquisition of syntax, the syntax of specific languages), and also includes author, language and topic indexes.
- Year's work in English studiesIncludes a lengthy bibliographic essay on studies of the English language, with sections on the history of English linguistics, phonetics and phonology, morphology, syntax, semantics, dialectology and sociolinguistics, pragmatics and discourse analysis.
- Year's work in modern language studiesThis annual volume includes a review essay on "Romance Linguistics," and essays on the state of scholarship on most of the major modern European languages, divided into sections on history of the language, phonology, syntax, and numerous other topics.