Meet Your Librarian!
Zara Wilkinson
Contact:
Paul Robeson Library
300 North 4th Street
Camden, NJ 08102
856-225-2831
Website
300 North 4th Street
Camden, NJ 08102
856-225-2831
Other Research Guides
Introduction to QuickSearch
QuickSearch is the best place to start your search for either books or articles. You can limit your results to just books or just articles by clicking on "Resource Type" and selecting either "Books" or "Articles." If you're looking for articles, don't forget to also select "Peer-reviewed journals" under "Limit To."
Below you will find a video that walks you through how to use QuickSearch to find a book on a specific topic.
Finding Articles
You can also use QuickSearch to search for articles. QuickSearch is a single search portal that can making finding sources easier, but it is not exhaustive and sometimes you will need to consult subject-specific databases in order to find the best articles for your topic. Here are some databases that you might consult for this course:
Suggested journals
Below you will find a selection of scholarly journals that address issues relevant to LGBTQ Studies. All of the journals listed here all available full-text from Rutgers University Libraries. To browse or search the archive of one of these journals, click on the links below and then click on any link under "Find Online."
Finding Books
Subject headings used by the library don't always match up to the terms you'd expect to use. At times they can seem unfamiliar, unexpected, or outdated. To find relevant books and articles at the Paul Robeson Library and Rutgers University Libraries, try some of the following subject headings (click on the links for a list of books) or look at some of the titles to the left side of the page:
Homosexuality in motion pictures
Homosexuality and motion pictures
Homosexuality-United States-Public opinion
Selected Books: Media Representation
The B Word: Bisexuality in Contemporary Film and Television by ISBN: 1299466850Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Feeling Normal: Sexuality and Media Criticism in the Digital Age by ISBN: 9780253024473Publication Date: 2017-01-09
The New Gay for Pay: The Sexual Politics of American Television Production by ISBN: 9781477313596Publication Date: 2018-01-13
Selected Books: Race and Sexuality
Queer in Black and White by
This book analyzes representative works of African American fiction, film, and music in which interracial desire appears in the context of same sex desire. In close readings of these "texts," Stefanie K. Dunning explores the ways in which the interracial intersects with queerness, blackness, whiteness, class, and black national identity. She shows that representations of interracial desire do not follow the logic of racial exclusion. Instead they are metaphorical and anti-biological. Rather than diluting race, interracial desire makes race visible. By invoking the interracial, black gay and lesbian artists can remake our conception of blackness.
ISBN: 0253002990Publication Date: 2009-05-12
Latina/o Sexualities by
Latina/os are currently the largest minority population in the United States. They are also one of the fastest growing. Yet, we have very limited research and understanding of their sexualities. Instead, stereotypical images flourish even though scholars have challenged the validity and narrowness of these images and the lack of attention to the larger social context. Gathering the latest empirical work in the social and behavioral sciences, this reader offers us a critical lens through which to understand these images and the social context framing Latina/os and their sexualities. Situated at the juncture of Latina/o studies and sexualities studies, Latina/o Sexualities provides a single resource that addresses the current state of knowledge from a multidisciplinary perspective. Contributors synthesize and critique the literature and carve a separate space where issues of Latina/o sexualities can be explored given the limitations of prevalent research models. This work compels the current wave in sexuality studies to be more inclusive of ethnic minorities and sets an agenda that policy makers and researchers will find invaluable.
ISBN: 9780813546001Publication Date: 2009-10-26
Nobody Is Supposed to Know: Black Sexuality on the Down Low by ISBN: 1452940908Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Queer, Latinx, and Bilingual by
Shortlisted for the 2018 BAAL Book Prize This book is a sociolinguistic ethnography of LGBT Mexicans/Latinxs in Phoenix, Arizona, a major metropolitan area in the U.S. Southwest. The main focus of the book is to examine participants' conceptions of their ethnic and sexual identities and how identities influence (and are influenced by) language practices. This book explores the intersubjective construction and negotiation of identities among queer Mexicans/Latinxs, paying attention to how identities are co-constructed in the interview setting in coming out narratives and in narratives of silence. The book destabilizes the dominant narrative on language maintenance and shift in sociolinguistics, much of which relies on a (heterosexual) family-based model of intergenerational language transmission, by bringing those individuals often at the margin of the family (LGBTQ members) to the center of the analysis. It contributes to the queering of bilingualism and Spanish in the U.S., not only by including a previously unstudied subgroup (LGBTQ people), but also by providing a different lens through which to view the diverse language and identity practices of U.S. Mexicans/Latinxs. This book addresses this exclusion and makes a significant contribution to the study of bilingualism and multilingualism by bringing LGBTQ Latinas/os to the center of the analysis.
ISBN: 9780415739092Publication Date: 2017-11-15
Not Straight, Not White: Black Gay Men from the March on Washington to the AIDS Crisi by
This compelling book recounts the history of black gay men from the 1950s to the 1990s, tracing how the major movements of the times--from civil rights to black power to gay liberation to AIDS activism--helped shape the cultural stigmas that surrounded race and homosexuality. In locating the rise of black gay identities in historical context, Kevin Mumford explores how activists, performers, and writers rebutted negative stereotypes and refused sexual objectification. Examining the lives of both famous and little-known black gay activists--from James Baldwin and Bayard Rustin to Joseph Beam and Brother Grant-Michael Fitzgerald--Mumford analyzes the ways in which movements for social change both inspired and marginalized black gay men. Drawing on an extensive archive of newspapers, pornography, and film, as well as government documents, organizational records, and personal papers, Mumford sheds new light on four volatile decades in the protracted battle of black gay men for affirmation and empowerment in the face of pervasive racism and homophobia.
ISBN: 1469626845Publication Date: 2016-03-14
No Tea, No Shade: New Writings in Black Queer Studies by
The follow-up to the groundbreaking Black Queer Studies, the edited collection No Tea, No Shade brings together nineteen essays from the next generation of scholars, activists, and community leaders doing work on black gender and sexuality. Building on the foundations laid by the earlier volume, this collection's contributors speak new truths about the black queer experience while exemplifying the codification of black queer studies as a rigorous and important field of study. Topics include "raw" sex, pornography, the carceral state, gentrification, gender nonconformity, social media, the relationship between black feminist studies and black trans studies, the black queer experience throughout the black diaspora, and queer music, film, dance, and theater. The contributors both disprove naysayers who believed black queer studies to be a passing trend and respond to critiques of the field's early U.S. bias. Deferring to the past while pointing to the future, No Tea, No Shade pushes black queer studies in new and exciting directions. Contributors. Jafari S. Allen, Marlon M. Bailey, Zachary Shane Kalish Blair, La Marr Jurelle Bruce, Cathy J. Cohen, Jennifer DeClue, Treva Ellison, Lyndon K. Gill, Kai M. Green, Alexis Pauline Gumbs, Kwame Holmes, E. Patrick Johnson, Shaka McGlotten, Amber Jamilla Musser, Alison Reed, Ramón H. Rivera-Servera, Tanya Saunders, C. Riley Snorton, Kaila Story, Omise'eke Natasha Tinsley, Julia Roxanne Wallace, Kortney Ziegler
ISBN: 9780822362227Publication Date: 2016-10-28
Ambientes: New Queer Latino Writing by
As the U.S. Latino population grows rapidly, and as the LGBTQ Latino community becomes more visible and a more crucial part of our literary and artistic heritage, there is an increasing demand for literature that successfully highlights these diverse lives. Edited by Lázaro Lima and Felice Picano, Ambientes is a revolutionary collection of fiction featuring stories by established authors as well as emerging voices that present a collective portrait of gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender experience in America today. With a preface by Picano and an introduction by Lima that sets the stage for understanding Latino literary and cultural history, this is the first anthology to cross cultural and regional borders by offering a wide variety of urban, rural, East Coast, West Coast, and midwestern perspectives on Latina and Latino queers from different walks of life. Stories range from sensual pieces to comical romances and from inner-city dramas fueled by street language to portraits of gay domesticity, making this a much-needed collection for many different kinds of readers. The stories in this collection reflect a vibrant and creative community and redefine received notions of "gay" and "lesbian." Finalist, Over the Rainbow selection, American Library Association Finalist, LGBT Anthology, Lambda Literary Awards Best Special Interest Books, selected by the American Association of School Librarians Best Special Interest Books, selected by the Public Library Reviewers
ISBN: 9780299282240Publication Date: 2011-06-27
Performing Black Masculinity by
Janusz A. Ihnatowicz, poet, priest, translator and scholar, is one of the most outstanding modern poets in the Polish tradition. Active in both English and Polish, his work Displeasure, and Other Poems, contains the entirety of his original poetic corpus in English (originally published in London in 1974), plus a generous helping of previously unpublished poems, as well as poems recently published in The Polish Review.
ISBN: 9780759109292Publication Date: 2006-07-21
Gay Latino Studies by
The authors of the essays in this unique collection explore the lives and cultural contributions of gay Latino men in the United States, while also analyzing the political and theoretical stakes of gay Latino studies. In new essays and influential previously published pieces, Latino scholars based in American studies, ethnic studies, history, performance studies, and sociology consider gay Latino scholarly and cultural work in relation to mainstream gay, lesbian, and queer academic discourses and the broader field of Chicano and Latino studies. They also critique cultural explanations of gay Latino sexual identity and behavior, examine artistic representations of queer Latinidad, and celebrate the place of dance in gay Latino culture. Designed to stimulate dialogue, the collection pairs each essay with a critical response by a prominent Latino/a or Chicana/o scholar. Terms such as gay, identity, queer, and visibility are contested throughout the volume; the significance of these debates is often brought to the fore in the commentaries. The essays in Gay Latino Studies complement and overlap with the groundbreaking work of lesbians of color and critical race theorists, as well as queer theorists and gay and lesbian studies scholars. Taken together, they offer much-needed insight into the lives and perspectives of gay, bisexual, and queer Latinos, and they renew attention to the politics of identity and coalition. Contributors. Tomás Almaguer, Luz Calvo, Lionel Cantú,, Daniel Contreras, Catriona Rueda Esquibel, Ramón García, Ramón A. Gutiérrez, Michael Hames-García, Lawrence La Fountain-Stokes, María Lugones, Ernesto J. Martínez, Paula M. L. Moya, José Esteban Muñoz, Frances Negrón-Muntaner, Ricardo L. Ortiz, Daniel Enrique Pérez, Ramón H. Rivera-Servera, Richard T. Rodríguez, David Román, Horacio N. Roque Ramírez, Antonio Viego
ISBN: 9780822349372Publication Date: 2011-04-13
Honeypot: Black Southern Women Who Love Women by
E. Patrick Johnson's Honeypot opens with the fictional trickster character Miss B. barging into the home of Dr. EPJ, informing him that he has been chosen to collect and share the stories of her people. With little explanation, she whisks the reluctant Dr. EPJ away to the women-only world of Hymen, where she serves as his tour guide as he bears witness to the real-life stories of queer Black women throughout the American South. The women he meets come from all walks of life and recount their experiences on topics ranging from coming out and falling in love to mother/daughter relationships, religion, and political activism. As Dr. EPJ hears these stories, he must grapple with his privilege as a man and as an academic, and in the process he gains insights into patriarchy, class, sex, gender, and the challenges these women face. Combining oral history with magical realism and poetry, Honeypot is an engaging and moving book that reveals the complexity of identity while offering a creative method for scholarship to represent the lives of other people in a rich and dynamic way.
ISBN: 9781478005902Publication Date: 2019-11-08
Helpful Citation Resources
MLA | MLA Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
Paul Robeson Library Location
REF DESK
LB2369.G53 2016
APA | Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
Paul Robeson Library Location
REF DESK
BF 76.7 .P83 2010
Chicago | The Chicago Manual of Style
Paul Robeson Library Location
REF DESK
Z 253 .U69 2010