Earth and Planetary Science

NOAA's educational data visualization tool can be used to visualize over 100 environmental variables on a global map. Subject coverage for data visualizations includes oceans, atmosphere, land, cryosphere, climate, and weather models.

Zoom Earth displays near real time satellite images of the earth in an interactive, zoomable map. Historical aerial images also available for viewing.

Explore a global perspective of some of the earth's most dynamic environmental events over time. NASA Worldview provides data stories compiled from satellite images. Users are also able to browse over 900 full resolution satellite imagery layers, many of which are updated near real-time.

The Ocean Color Viewer is a data visualization tool for viewing NOAA's ocean color data products mapped from satellite imagery. Five data layers are available: landmask, true color, ocean color data, shorelines, and granule boundaries.

NASA's main image, video, and audio database compiling images and multimedia from numerous collections across NASA.

Displays thousands of beautiful high resolution images of earth landscapes, all mapped to the locations where they were taken.

The NOAA's collection of thousands of photo's contributed by staff collected and displayed for educational use. The collection includes photos of weather, space, coastal seas, shores, and marine species.

The USGS image library features collections of photos from various major earthquakes around the world. Earthquakes featured vary across time as well, with the oldest collection from 1811.

The NGMD provides resources for information on geoscience research including a map catalog, geologic names lexicon, and geologic map standards.