Earth and Planetary Science
Chemistry & Physics Librarian /
Science Data Specialist
NASA Earth Observatory Image of the Day
Overview
Welcome to the Earth and Planetary Science research guide. Here you will find a collection of Rutgers Libraries resources for research on earth and planetary science. We highlight books and databases accessible through Rutgers Libraries, as well as information on resources outside of Rutgers, such as, data repositories, federal agencies and organizations, and interactive widgets.
Thank you to Jennifer Coffman, MI candidate at Rutgers School of Communication and Information, for working on this guide.
Featured Databases
Check out our featured databases for searching subject specific needs in earth and planetary science. The databases tab highlights additional database offerings.
- GeoScience WorldGeoScience World (GSW) is a nonprofit corporation formed by a group of geoscientific organizations. The founding organizations include AAPG, AGI, GSA, GSL, MSA, SEPM, and SEG. The GSW Millennium Collection, an online service provided by GSW, includes peer-reviewed articles and other materials with linked reference lists from more than 30 high-impact journals in a broad range of geosciences areas.
- GeoRefThe GeoRef database covers the geology of North America from 1693 to the present and the geology of the rest of the world from 1933 to the present. The database contains over 2.6 million references to geoscience journal articles, books, maps, conference papers and reports. It also includes references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey.
- GeoRef In ProcessThe GeoRef In Process database contains records that are in the process of being indexed prior to their integration in the main GeoRef database.
News
Earth Science News
Planetary Science News
General Science News
- Science MagazineGeneral science news from the American Association of the Advancement of Science (AAAS)
ScienceNews is published by the Society for Science and The Public and is an independent non-profit website for reliable science journalism/news. They are, also, a member of the Institute for Non-Profit News.
PhysicsWorld is a scientific news and commentary website produced by IOP publishing, a large scientific scholarly publishing company part of the Institute of Physics.