Research Guides: Earth and Planetary Science: Data

NASA Data Universe

NASA is a huge hub for space science information. It has resources spread across many websites, departments, and programs. In addition to traditional resources you can also find data archives, coding projects, and APIs as part of their data universe. To learn more about the NASA data universe this slideshow from their SpaceApps Hackathon can help.

NASA also employs a major initiative to encourage open science and help users navigate their resources called the Open Innovation program. Visit Open NASA to discover all their open science programs and resources.

Planetary Data Repositories

Astrophysics Data System
Run by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO), the astrophysics data system is a digital library comprised of three databases holding over 13 million records of publications, data catalogs, data sets, and more. Subject coverage includes astronomy, astrohpysics, physics, and the arXiv e-prints.
ESAC Science Data Center
The ESAC Science Data Centre maintains and provides access to archives of observations and data from the European Space Agency's (ESA) space science missions. Missions are archived by subject (astronomy, planetary science, and heliophysics).
NASA.DATA.GOV
DATA.NASA.GOV is NASA's most comprehensive catalog of publicly available datasets, browsable through their open data portal. The catalog contains datasets from many archives and sites across NASA, as well as, those exclusive to DATA.NASA.GOV.
Planetary Data System
The Planetary Data System is a NASA digital archive of data retrieved from planetary missions. Sponsored by the Office of Space Science, the data is peer-reviewed and open-access online. One major goal of the archive is to ensure permanent storage and usage of data.