Literatures in English: A Research Guide

Editor Gregory Smith explicitly follows the model of Wright's three volumes (previous item). "A compilation of first printings of original fiction for adults by American authors published in the U.S. from 1901 to 1925." Arranged by author, with indices by title, illustrator, and publisher. Based on the William Charvat Collection of American Fiction at the Ohio State University Libraries (though drawing also on the holdings of NY Public Library and the Library of Congress, among others).

Arranged by author with indexes. Includes locations and a fair degree of bibliographic description, plus cross reference to the Early American Imprints microform sets owned at Alexander.

Chronological arrangement of 1363 entries with author or translator and title indices.

Includes narratives by English authors or translators first published during this period. A chronological arrangement with author, title, translator, publisher, and printer indices.

A chronological arrangement, with indices, of 338 novels published during the decade– including reprinted works and foreign fiction in translation.

Includes more than 4000 films and 81,000 books– novels, anthologies, and collections. Arranged by author with title, settings, series, director, screenwriter, and film title indices, plus a series character chronology.

Chronological arrangement with extensive indices of narrative prose works of more than 5000 words printed in magazines and journals– not newspapers.

Claims to list all fiction covered during that period–170,000 entries covering collections of fiction, anthologies, and separate novels. Includes non-American writers in American editions. Very brief information given, but does list separate editions.

Lists 15,174 novels (including 306 that are anonymous) published in England or the United States by 5267 authors. Arranged in three sections, each by author: first verified titles; second, also verified, books by anonymous or pseudonymous authors or authors whose sex is unknown or concealed; third, books cited in secondary sources (e.g. publisher catalogs), but not verified as actually having been published.

Spans the period 1475 to 1900, and includes nearly 5000 items. Scope is only published work–autobiographies, correspondence, and travel writing. Includes a subject index and a chronological list. (2nd copy in stacks).

Indexes short story collection and periodicals that publish short fiction. Access by author, title, and subject. Currently includes about 3500-4000 stories per year (new and reprints) from collections and periodicals. Not intended to be a comprehensive bibliography, but a helpful guide to locating published short fiction.

Bibliographic information on more than 30,000 plays translated into English from Antiquity to the present that have been published individually and in anthologies from 1949 to the present. In addition to standard searching capability, users can search by cast gender and number or by the age group for which it was written. Records include requirements for scenery, cast, and music, as well as an abstract and subject descriptions in addition to links to additional online information.

Chronological arrangement by known or probable date of first performance. Includes information on first edition or manuscript and on most recent modern edition. Note that there is a 3rd edition (in the circulating stacks, same call number), but it is apparently filled with errors and inconsistencies and not preferred. to the 2nd edition.

Lists the plays written before 1642 and printed before 1700, plus those written after 1642 but printed before 1660. Includes information on editions, variants, and issues, as well as some locations. An old but authoritative source.

Covers 1475 to 1900, with more than 2800 entries arranged by author. Includes subject index, a chronological list, and an index of adaptations and translations. Also includes some dramas not presently known or in print, but known only through secondary sources.

Lists roughly 9000 plays from the period–including children's plays, minstrel dialogues, opera libretti, and translations of continental drama. Very brief information (author, title, publisher, date) but multiple access points–author, title, translator, arranger, etc.)

Lists 9000 plays. Access by author, title, pseudonym, adapter, translator, with appendices including lists of women dramatists and pseudonyms. Most will be vailable through Early English Books Online (EEBO), Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO), or Early American Imprints, Series I: Evans, 1639-1800.

Identifies all English poetry found in printed and transcribed sources between 1559 and 1603, with more than 35,000 records. Includes a variety of indexes.

Includes 2456 entries, with 11,600 individual poems. Includes author, title, subject, first line indices, plus cross references to the Pollard & Redgrave Short-Title Catalogue, and thus to the Early English Books microprint set.

Covering the period 1475 to 1900, arranged by author, with a chronological list. Includes more than 6000 books.