Engineering
This subject guide provides links to engineering databases at RUL and related information concerning engineering
Indexes and Databases: Start Here
Below are the databases with content most closely associated with engineering, followed by databases with content related to specific areas of engineering. All databases are listed on our Databases page.
-
Compendex [Rutgers Restricted](1969 to present)
Compendex is the only Rutgers database containing engineering content exclusively. A comprehensive bibliographic database of engineering research, it contains over eight million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. -
ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) Digital Library [Rutgers Restricted](1954 to the present)
The ACM Digital Library contains the full-text for articles published in ACM and affiliated organizations' periodicals and proceedings since 1985, as well as bibliographic information, abstracts, and reviews for those articles. These publications cover various fields related to computing, including software, hardware, computational theory, artificial intelligence, information science, human-computer interaction, instructional technology, and the research and development communities involved in computing. -
ASME Digital Collection [Rutgers Restricted]ASME Digital Collection is the publishing platform of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME). On this platform, Rutgers has access to ASME journals, which provide students, researchers, and practicing engineers with the latest research, current theory, practice, and application. Rutgers does not have access to ASME non-journal content or to other ASME publishing partners’ content on this platform
-
ASTM Digital Library [Rutgers Restricted]ASTM Digital Library is the platform for ASTM's journals, books (including Manuals, Monographs, Data Series, and Technical Reports), and conference proceedings (symposia papers, also known as selected technical papers). These items cover a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.
-
IEEE Xplore [Rutgers Restricted](1988 to the present with select titles back to 1913)
It covers more than 30% of the world's literature in electrical engineering, electronics, computer science, information science, materials science, physical sciences and biomedical engineering. The database allows for full text access to over 140 journals, over 450 conference proceedings and 800 standards from more than 36 not-for-profit IEEE societies and IEE. There are currently over one million documents in IEL with content back to 1988(plus select content back to 1950). -
IEEEXplore MIT Press eBooks Library [Rutgers Restricted]IEEE Xplore MIT Press eBooks Library is a collection of over 500 books in a variety of computing and engineering fields, including computer science, artificial intelligence, information theory, computer programming, information technology, and electrical engineering. To view the books in this collection, start by selecting a topic from the topics menu, and then browse the books in that topic area.Rutgers has access to the books published between 1943 - 2013 in the IEEE Xplore MIT Press eBooks Library collection.
-
PubMedPubMed is a database of more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed’s primary focus is biomedicine and health sciences, but it also includes related fields such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed is updated daily with citations for the latest published research.
When you access PubMed through this page, a “Get It @ R” button appears in many citations. Rutgers affiliates can use this button to link to full-text articles and books available through Rutgers University Libraries. -
Reaxys [Rutgers Restricted]Reaxys is a web-based chemistry database that provides user-friendly online access to information about millions of chemical structures, reactions, and properties contained in the Beilstein and Gmelin databases. Reaxys integrates content from three major data sources: Beilstein, Gmelin, and the Chemical Patent Database. It is a great resource for researchers who are investigating organic synthesis, and/or searching for data on physical, chemical, spectral, bioactivity, or toxicological properties of chemical compounds.
-
ScienceDirect [Rutgers Restricted](Varies by title. Most full text begins in 1995)
ScienceDirect, the electronic science journal package from Elsevier Science provides access to more than 1000 periodicals (over 1,100,000 articles) from 1995 to present. Included in ScienceDirect's holdings are the following fields: Biological Sciences, Chemistry, Materials Science, Engineering and Technology, Environmental Science, Economics, Business and Management Science, Neuroscience, Pharmacology and Toxicology, Physics, Mathematics and Computer Science, Earth Sciences, Social Sciences, Biochemistry, Microbiology and Immunology, and Clinical Medicine. The full-text/full-image articles (PDF version) are available. -
SciFinder-n (CAS SciFinder-n) [Rutgers Restricted](1907 - present)
SciFinder Scholar is the electronic version of the print publication Chemical Abstracts. Like Chemical Abstracts, SciFinder Scholar comprehensively covers the world-wide literature of chemistry including print journal articles, online publications, patents, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, technical reports, government documents, etc. -
SPIE Digital Library [Rutgers Restricted]The SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 200,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings from 1990 to the present. More than 17,000 new technical papers are added annually. All sources are searchable and there are also several browse options for proceedings (by year, symposium, volume number, volume title, technology).
-
Web of Science [Rutgers Restricted](1984 - present)
The Web of Science is an enhanced web version of the Institute for Scientific Information's citation indexes, including the Science Citation Index:, the Social Sciences Citation Index:, and the Arts and Humanities Citation Index. The Web of Science measures the impact of particular journals and is one of the sources used by the National Research Council to rank graduate programs.
Related Databases and Indexes
-
Agricultural Science Collection (ProQuest) [Rutgers Restricted](1979 - present)
Agricultural Science Collection is a database of agricultural science scholarship. It includes over 1,000 journals, and it also includes all records found in the Agricola database. It covers all aspects of agriculture, including agronomy, animal science, biology, biotechnology, botany, breeding, chemistry, conservation, crop management, dairy science, ecology, entomology, farm management, feed science, fertilizers, food and nutrition, forestry, horticulture, hydrology, hydroponics, microbiology, nutrition, pesticides, physiology, plant science, pollution, soil science, water quality, and zoology.
It indexes more than 2,000 serial titles as well as books, pamphlets, conference proceedings, research reports, government documents, monographs, theses, patents, software, audiovisual content, and microforms pertaining to all aspects of agriculture. -
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals [Rutgers Restricted](1977 - present)
The Avery Index is the foremost periodicals index for architecture and related disciplines. It indexes over 1,000 periodicals published worldwide covering the subject areas of architecture, architectural design, city planning, historic preservation, history of architecture, interior design and landscape architecture. -
BIOSIS Previews [Rutgers Restricted](1998 - present)
BIOSIS Previews database is a comprehensive index to life science and biomedical research. Each year BIOSIS adds more than 560,000 references from more than 5,500 sources including more than 5,000 international journals, published meetings, symposia and workshops, patents, book and software reviews. It is multidisciplinary covering, among other, Applied Zoology, Behavior and Ecology, Biotechnology, Medicine, Microbiology, Molecular Biology, Physiology, and Plant Sciences. -
CAB Abstracts [Rutgers Restricted](1973- present)
CAB ABSTRACTS is a bibliographic database compiled by CAB International. It covers the significant research and development literature in the fields of agriculture, forestry, aspects of human health, human nutrition, animal health, and the management and conservation of natural resources. -
Computing Reviews [Rutgers Restricted](May 1985 - present)
Computing Reviews provides critical reviews by computing experts of books and papers in the computing field. Users should not confuse Computing Reviews with ACM Guide to Computing Literature (The Guide). Items reviewed in Computing Reviews are a subset of the ACM Guide to Computing Literature. -
Dissertations & Theses Global [Rutgers Restricted](1637 - present)
The database includes citations for materials ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester; those published from 1980 forward also include 350-word abstracts, written by the author. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Of the 1.5 million titles listed, UMI offers over a million in full text. For these titles, the database citation includes UMI's order number. The database represents the work of authors from over 1,000 North American graduate schools and European universities. -
GeoRef [Rutgers Restricted](1693 - present (North America coverage); 1933 - present (Worldwide coverage))
GeoRef provides references and selected abstracts to the world's literature in the geosciences, covering North America since 1785 and other areas since 1933. Covers journal articles (more than 3500 journals are indexed), books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses, as well as references to all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. -
International Pharmaceutical Abstracts [Rutgers Restricted](1970 - present)
The International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) database provides worldwide coverage of pharmaceutical science and health related literature from 1970 to the present, and is updated monthly. Produced by the American Society of Health-System Pharmacists, IPA citations come from over 750 journals providing comprehensive information for drug therapy, toxicity, and pharmacy practice as well as legislation, regulation, technology, utilization, biopharmaceutics, information processing, education, economics, and ethics as related to pharmaceutical science and practice. -
MathSciNet [Rutgers Restricted](1940 - present)
MathSciNet is the searchable Web database providing access Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications. Mathematical Reviews provides timely reviews or summaries of articles and books that contain new contributions to mathematical research. See the MR Editorial Statement for a fuller description. The approximately 1600 current serials and journals reviewed in who le or in part are listed in the Abbreviations of Names of Serials which may be viewed in PDF format or as a brow sable listing. -
GeoScienceWorld [Rutgers Restricted]GeoScience World (GSW) is a nonprofit corporation formed by a group of geoscientific organizations. The founding organizations include AAPG, AGI, GSA, GSL, MSA, SEPM, and SEG. The GSW Millennium Collection, an online service provided by GSW, includes peer-reviewed articles and other materials with linked reference lists from more than 30 high-impact journals in a broad range of geosciences areas.
-
ProQuest Environmental Science Collection [Rutgers Restricted](1967 - current)
The collection contains environmental science related full-text articles, granular access to figures and tables within articles, environmental impact statements, and the entire range of bibliographic records from Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management (ESPM). ESPM provides comprehensive coverage of the environmental sciences drawn from over 10,000 serials including scientific journals, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
Open Databases
-
Civil Engineering DatabaseThe Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) is designed to provide bibliographic access to all ASCE publications. The database covers all the journals, conference proceedings, books, standards, manuals, magazines, and newspapers. Journal papers with abstracts go back to 1970. Non-abstract journal records go back to 1958. The book records are complete dating back to the early 1900s. The database is constantly expanded and enriched.
-
Structurae: International Database and Gallery of StructuresStructurae is a database for works of structural and civil engineering, but also contains many other works of importance or interest of the fields of architecture and public works. This site is mostly concerned with the structural aspects of the works documented here and the technical aspects of their construction and design. At the same time we do take into account the social, historic and architectural context.
-
TRID --Transportation Research Information ServicesTRID is a newly integrated database that combines the records from TRB's Transportation Research Information Services (TRIS) Database and the OECD's Joint Transport Research Centre’s International Transport Research Documentation (ITRD) Database. TRID provides access to over 900,000 records of transportation research worldwide.