Skip to main content

Patents: General Info

Information useful for the individual inventor.

The History of Patent Law

image from onlinellm.usc.eduThe University of Southern California (USC) Gould School of Law has created an infographic that provides some highlights in the history of patent law, starting at around 500 B.C. and including the first ever recorded document that granted rights to an individual and the establishment of the U.S. patent act in 1790.  

Patents at the Library of Science and Medicine

Since 1989, the Library of Science and Medicine (LSM) has been a depository library for United States patents and trademarks. LSM has a complete collection of United States utility, design and plant patents (USAPAT) and patent applications (USAAPP) on DVD-ROM.  The collection is accessible on the CASSIS2 computer workstation in the LSM reference area. 

The Patent and Trademark Resource Center Association  maintains a comprehensive list of online resources for patents and trademarks.  This list includes links to the intellectual property offices of various foreign countries, resources for inventors including links to inventor groups and associations, and a comprehensive list of patent and trademark databases with full descriptions of their coverage.  Follow the "Online Resources" or "Historical Patent and Trademark Databases" links from the left sidebar of their home page.

General Information Concerning Patents
This online brochure was prepared by USPTO. It provides FAQ for US patent information. This site is extremely useful for a new user to get familiar with patent.

Tutorials

See this excellent tutorial from the US Patent and Trademark Office on how to conduct a preliminary U.S. patent search.

Conducting a patent search is a complicated process.  To learn how to search patents, please consult one of the tutorials available at Patent Searching Tutorial (University of Texas at Austin). By following these tutorials, you will learn the basics of conducting an invention search.

Patent Lens  has compiled a comprehensive list of Patent Tutorials and FAQs.

The World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO) has a very comprehensive e-Tutorial on how to use and exploit patent information.  The tutorial is interactive, and arranged in three sections: patent basics, patent search and retrieval, and patent analysis.

New Jersey Patents

My Profile

Connie Wu
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable.
Contact:
LSM

Rutgers University

(O) 5x4728
Subjects:Engineering