Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Embase

What is in Embase?

Embase is a comprehensive biomedical literature resource produced by Elsevier for drug, disease and medical device R&D and pharmacovigilance with comprehensive content including articles, conference abstracts, in press articles and all of MEDLINE. Embase aims to represent the international scientific literature and updated daily. It contains three databases:

  • The Embase database: Contains biomedical literature from 1974 to present.
  • The MEDLINE database: Covers journals from 1966 to present.
  • Embase Classic: The Embase back file covering almost 2 million biomedical and pharmacological citations drawn from over 3,000 international titles from between 1947 and 1973.

Based on Embase content coverage, it provides access to 8,100 currently published journals from 95 countries, including MEDLINE titles and 2900 journals unique to Embase.

When use Embase?
  • If you need to do a comprehensive search, as for a systematic or scoping review. Searching PubMed/MEDLINE and Embase, although there is some overlap, you may get results unique to each.
  • If you are searching on drug/pharmacy topics, which are very well supported in Embase.
  • If you are looking for articles published outside the US. Searching Embase will give you more results from outside main publishing areas (North America and Western Europe).
RUTGERS.EDU | SEARCH RUTGERS.EDU

© , Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Rutgers is an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers websites to accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback form.