Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
American Presidency Project
An extensive collection of materials relating to the Presidency including election data, speeches, party platforms, documents, and other materials.
David Leip's Atlas of U.S. Presidential Elections
Provides detailed information on national results for the major and minor candidates for U.S. President in the presidential elections from 1789 on. Also includes state results beginning with the 1896 elections.
Includes official vote counts for federal elections from the official sources among the various states and territories for the years 1920 to the present plus other information relating to elections. From the U.S. House of Representatives.
A New Nation Votes: American Election Returns, 1787-1825
Although not complete, the site includes data for "all offices from the Federal to the local levels including Presidential elections, Town clerk elections and everything in between." When "complete it will include all 25 states and territories that existed at the time."
U.S. Election Data
Information on access to data files from Dave Leip, producer of the Atlas of US Elections. Includes data on both state and Federal elections.
U.S. Election Statistics: A Resource Guide
"A guide to online and print resources that contain U.S. election statistics for both federal and state elections."
Voting America, United States Politics, 1840-2008
Provides cinematic and interactive maps, and analysis, of the Presidential elections in the US from 1840-2008. Maps data by geographic region, political party, voter turnout, voter demographics, and more.
Voting and Registration - U.S. Census Bureau
Information on reported voting and registration based on various demographic and socioeconomic characteristics.
Campaign Finance Data
A single point of entry to campaign finance data from the Federal Election Commission. Includes maps and charts, search tools, and downloadable data sets.
Federal Election Commission
Includes financial information about candidates, parties and PACs, as well as materials on campaign finance law, political contributions, administrative fines, and statistics on elections and voting.
Provides data on campaign contributions, politicians, legislative votes, industries, companies, ballot propositions, and more.
From the Center for Responsive Politics, the site tracks the money behind the candidates in all current Presidential, Congressional, and local elections. Provides information including the total amount raised, top contributors, a searchable database, and more.
General Data Resources
Offers access to Federal Executive Branch datasets as "raw" data and through various tools and apps. Includes data on population, education, business, health, science and technology, geography and environment, and many other areas. Additional material and material on additional subjects is being added on a continuing basis.
Data-Planet Statistical Datasets [Rutgers Restricted]
Easy access to data from more than 70 organizational sources with over 4.9 billion datasets. Coverage includes US Federal, US State, International, and Nonprofit organizational sources.
Historical Statistics of the United States: Millennial Edition [Rutgers Restricted]
Covering Colonial times to the year 2000, the database is a standard source for data on all aspects of American history. Sections include population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, economic sectors, and governance and international relations with over 37,000 data series and statistics from more than 1,000 sources.
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. [Rutgers Restricted]
Searchable version of the essential resource formerly produced by the U.S. Bureau of the Census. Provides a comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Divided into broad sections such as Population; Health and Nutrition; Labor Force, Employment, and Earnings; Foreign Commerce and Aid; and many others.
Statistical Abstract of the United States
Full-text PDF versions of the publication from the U.S. Bureau of the Census from 1878 to 2012. Includes statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States and selected international data. Also includes a full-text PDF version of Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970.