IPE focused Journals
Selected Books
Here are some sample books to read. For more books, please check List of Interprofessional Education Books at Rutgers University Libraries.
Comprehensive Healthcare Simulation by
This book focuses on InterProfessional (IP) Team Training and Simulation, from basic concepts to the practical application of IP in different healthcare settings. It thoroughly and comprehensively covers the role of simulation in healthcare, human factors in healthcare, challenges to conducting simulation-based IP, logistics, and applications of simulation-based IP in clinical practice.
ISBN: 9783030288440Publication Date: 2020-02-01
Evidence Based Practice for Health Professionals by
Evidence Based Practice for Health Professionals, Second Edition is a entry-level textbook for health professional students that explores the basic concepts of evidence-based practice with a clinical emphasis.
ISBN: 9781284165647Publication Date: 2020-02-25
Comprehensive Healthcare Simulation: ECMO Simulation by
This book focuses on the technical, cognitive, and behavioral skills needed to implement an extracorporeal membrane oxygenation (ECMO) simulation program. It describes these programs on the individual, team, and hospital system level, and includes the history of ECMO simulation, its evolution to its current state, and future directions of technology and science related to ECMO simulation.
ISBN: 3030538435Publication Date: 2020-12-17
Clinical Assessment of Human Suffering by
This book is addressed to physicians and other health professionals involved in the assessment and care planning of patients at the end of life. It brings a unique and humanistic view on the challenges of good practice in palliative care. Concepts and definitions, resources and therapeutic alternatives, as well as symptoms of distress in the physical, emotional, family, social and spiritual dimensions are discussed in a clear and practical way, demystifying and dissolving the barriers of this approach.
ISBN: 3030575330Publication Date: 2020-12-11
Overcoming Secondary Stress in Medical and Nursing Practice by
There is no better time to revisit the problem of secondary stress among caregivers than on the heels of the COVID-19 pandemic. This book highlights the importance of interprofessional communication and support in ameliorating the stressors of clinical work, an effort enhanced by interdisciplinary co-authorship. Educators and front line clinicians have come to the realization that the recognition and self-management of secondary stress and burnout will contribute to a high functioning, caring health care delivery system in the future that prevents attrition and major health problems for those in clinical careers.
ISBN: 9780197547243Publication Date: 2021-03-01
Measuring the Impact of Interprofessional Education on Collaborative Practice and Patient Outcomes by
Measuring the Impact of Interprofessional Education on Collaborative Practice and Patient Outcomes addresses the current lack of broadly applicable measures of collaborative behavior and makes recommendations for resource commitments from interprofessional stakeholders, funders, and policy makers to advance the study of IPE.
ISBN: 0309372828Publication Date: 2016-01-15
Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination by
Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination 9th Edition offers a uniquely interprofessional, patient-centered, lifespan approach to physical examination and health assessment. This new edition features an increased focus on patient safety, clinical reasoning, and evidence-based practice, along with an emphasis on the development of good communication skills and effective hands-on examination techniques.
ISBN: 9780323481953Publication Date: 2018-01-26
Interprofessional Simulation in Health Care by
This book describes and discusses a practice-oriented approach to understanding and researching interprofessional simulation-based education and simulation. It provides empirical findings from research on this topic and is informed by practice-oriented perspectives. It identifies critical features of the simulation practice and discusses how these can be used in reforming simulation pedagogy.
ISBN: 3030195414Publication Date: 2019-08-26
Interprofessional Care and Mental Health by
This book utilises conversation analysis (CA) and discursive psychology (DP) methodologies to examine the internal workings of multi-disciplinary teams which are concerned with the care, treatment and diagnosis of clients with complex mental health needs.
ISBN: 3319982273Publication Date: 2019-01-17
Pediatric Stroke Rehabilitation by
Pediatric Stroke Rehabilitation: An Interprofessional and Collaborative Approach is a groundbreaking text designed to enhance the practice of all health care providers, enrich discussion, and emphasize the interdisciplinary nature of managing best outcomes for a child who has had a stroke. Evidence-based practice is threaded throughout the text with an emphasis on recovery vs. compensation, goal achievement, and outcome measurement. In conjunction with the interdisciplinary contributions from a wide variety of health care professionals, Drs. Heather Atkinson, Kim Nixon-Cave, and Sabrina E. Smith aim to provide the necessary tools to effectively treat children with stroke.
ISBN: 1617116181Publication Date: 2017-08-01
To Err Is Human by
To Err Is Human breaks the silence that has surrounded medical errors and their consequence--but not by pointing fingers at caring health care professionals who make honest mistakes. After all, to err is human. Instead, this book sets forth a national agenda--with state and local implications--for reducing medical errors and improving patient safety through the design of a safer health system.
ISBN: 9780309068376Publication Date: 2000-03-01
Library Databases
Popular databases
- Academic Search Premier look for citations involving collaborations of health professionals with other professionals in areas such as the arts, business, communication, education, humanities, language and linguistics, social sciences, technology, and women's studies
- APA PsycINFO Scholarly literature (journal articles, books, chapters, and dissertations) in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences; the materials are relevant to mental health, business, education, social science, neuroscience, law, medicine, and social work professionals; access references on interdisciplinary education, research, and approaches to patient care
- Biomedical Reference Collection: Comprehensive Provides access to nearly 900 full text journals, including full text for nearly 850 peer-reviewed publications. Disciplines covered include: clinical medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the pre-clinical sciences.
- ClinicalKey ClinicalKey provides current information to clinical health care providers via an aggregated content service. It provides full-text access to over 500 Elsevier journals and 1,000 e-books. Additionally, it includes clinical overviews, clinical trials, drug monographs, clinical guidelines, patient education handouts, images & multimedia, procedure videos, clinical calculators, and indexing and abstracts from the National Library of Medicine’s MEDLINE database. The latter consists of journal citations and abstracts for published health sciences journal literature. ClinicalKey is continuously updated with the most current clinical information and editions, and MEDLINE citations are updated every week.
- Cochrane Library Cochrane Library is a collection of evidence-based clinical information for healthcare providers. The primary resource, the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR), contains systemic reviews, protocols, editorials, and supplements. Each systematic review has been prepared and supervised by a Cochrane Review Group (editorial team) of expert clinicians. Each review attempts to identify, appraise and synthesize all the empirical evidence that meets pre-specified eligibility criteria to answer a specific research question. Reviews assess a wide range of topics of interest to clinicians, including interventions, diagnostic test accuracy, methodology, qualitative evidence, and prognoses.
- Cumulative Index to Nursing & Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) Premier database for nursing and allied health literature; use to discover similar and interdisciplinary concerns
- DynaMed Dynamed is a just-in-time clinical reference tool integrating evidence-based medicine with practical information for clinical practice on more than 3,200 clinical topics. It is designed for physicians, nurses, and other health professionals. It includes clinical decision rules, practice guidelines, calculators, and links to full-text articles indexed by the National Library of Medicine’s (NLM) PubMed. It is updated daily with the latest medical information gleaned from journals, journal review services, systematic review collections, guideline collections, drug information sources, and other relevant sources.
- ERIC Large, international database on education materials
- Essential Evidence Plus Essential Evidence Plus is a clinical decision-making tool that provides point-of-care information for physicians, nurses, and other healthcare professionals. Essential Evidence Topics are the central feature of the platform; they provide best-evidence answers to the most important clinical questions concerning symptoms, diseases, drugs, and other treatment regimens. Every recommendation carries a strength-of-evidence rating that grades its merit on the basis of all of the evidence available in the relevant literature.
- Google Scholar connected to full-text Google Scholar is a search engine for scholarly literature, including articles, books, theses, abstracts, and technical reports. Many of the search results link to abstracts at PubMed. If journals are available to the public or if the University Libraries have licensed the resource, you should be able to retrieve the full text from our university’s web address for Google Scholar.
- HealthSTAR Database with hospital-based literature, including management concerns, and information technology
- JAMAevidence JAMAevidence is a platform designed to help clinicians make evidence-based healthcare decisions. It contains textbooks, tools, and forms useful to the critical appraisal process. Textbooks contained in JAMAevidence are: Users’ Guides to the Medical Literature: A Manual for Evidence-Based Clinical Practice The Rational Clinical Examination: Evidence-Based Clinical Diagnosis JAMA Guide to Statistics and Methods Care at the Close of Life: Evidence and Experience
- Lister Hill National Center for Biomedical Communications United States National Library of Medicine (US NLM) portal or one-stop shopping resource which includes meeting abstracts and citations from NLM Health Services Research Projects
- MEDLINE (OVID) Premier online database for biomedical literature from many health science profession specialties
- Proquest Social Science Journals Provides access to more than 160 key journals for the study of social sciences. Subjects include anthropology, community health and medical care, family studies, gender studies, international relations, minority studies, psychiatry, social work and more
- PubMed Free access worldwide to over 22 million scholarly citations on biomedical and healthcare topics of interest to students, clinicians and researchers
- Scopus Scopus is a citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature that can be used by researchers to determine the impact of specific authors, articles/documents, and journals. It contains over 50 million records in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities.
- Trip This search engine started in 1997 continues to evolve and in 2012 received a face lift; use it for one-stop shopping to browse resources on a topic of your choice such as interdisciplinary collaboration; results include international guidelines, e-book excerpts, Clinical Q & A, original research articles and secondary evidence such as systematic reviews
- UpToDate UpToDate is a point-of-care information resource which contains over 10,000 clinical topics representing 25 specialties.
- Visible Body Visible Body is a 3D anatomy visualization database. The Libraries have access to 5 modules on the Visible Body platform. Each module is available both as a desktop site and a mobile app.
- VisualDX VisualDX is a diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to be used at the point of care. To get started, type a symptom, medication, country, or diagnosis in the search box. You can also select “select a problem area” to choose from pre-coordinated scenarios. You can select from a wide variety of options to complete your workup, and then you can view your differential diagnosis. Each diagnosis is illustrated with images from VisualDX’s photo image library
- Web of Science Web of Science includes data from the Science Citation Index Expanded and the Social Sciences Citation Index. Authoritative, multidisciplinary content covers over 12,000 of the highest impact journals worldwide, including Open Access journals and over 150,000 conference proceedings. You'll find current and retrospective coverage in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage to 1900