Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Articles in scholarly encyclopedias usually present a good overview of the topic and identify the current issues, approaches, and scholarship relating to that topic. Knowing the issues can help you focus your research on a particular aspect of a topic.
- Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
- Leonard W. Levy and Kenneth L. Karst. 2d edition. Detroit, Macmillan Reference USA, 2000.
- Some 3000 scholarly entries on constitutional issues, key constitutional law cases, and legislative developments, most with brief bibliographies.
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Civil Rights: From Emancipation to the Twenty-First Century.
- Charles D. Lowery and John F. Marszalek, editors. Westport, Conn., Greenwood Press, 2003. 2 volumes.
- Entries followed by brief bibliographies. Vol. 2 includes 120 primary documents. Available?
- Encyclopedia of Gender and Society
- Jodi O'Brien, editor. Thousand Oaks, California, Sage Publications, 2008.
- Over 450 signed entries with brief bibliographies. Worldwide scope. Rutgers-restricted Access
- LGBT: Encyclopedia of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender History in America
- New York, Charles Scribner's Sons, 2004. 3 vols.
- More than 500 scholarly entries on LGBT identities, communities, cultures, movements, and issues. Rutgers-restricted Access
, Criminal Justice
, History - Global & Eurasian
, History - North America
, Journalism & Media Studies
, Latin American & Caribbean Studies
, Literatures in English
, New Jerseyana
, Political Science
, Social Work
, Spanish & Portuguese Studies
, Women's & Gender Studies