Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Link to Libraries homepage
Link to Libraries homepage
Rutgers University Libraries

Chemistry: Indexes & Databases

Guide to library resources in the field of Chemistry.

SciFinder

COVID-19 UPDATE: You can now register for a new SciFinder account from off campus. You must be logged into Rutgers with your netID and password, OR on a Rutgers VPN, in order to create your SciFinder account. Follow the instructions on creating your account in the video below.

SciFinder comprehensively covers the world-wide literature of chemistry, including journal articles, patents, conference proceedings, theses and dissertations, technical reports, government documents, etc.  Search by research topic, author name, DOI, patent number, chemical name, chemical structure, chemical reaction and more.  Coverage dates: 1907-present.

Resources for SciFinder registration and navigation are provided below:

Reaxys

About Reaxys

Reaxys is a database which provides information on millions of chemical structures, reactions, and properties for organic, organometallic, inorganic, and medicinal chemistry. Data is integrated from many sources including Bellstein, Gmelin, the Chemical Patent Database, PubChem, and Sigmma-Aldrich and also includes bibliographic and patent information. It is a great resource for researchers who are investigating organic synthesis, and/or searching for data on physical, chemical, spectral, bioactivity, or toxicological properties of chemical compounds. Many helpful features are available including the synthesis planner which can identify the best routes for synthesis or find multiple synthesis options. 

Search by: CAS number, chemical name, molecular formula, and property value

Coverage dates: 1771 - present

Connect to Reaxys

Screenshot of reaxys interface

Related Indexes & Databases

In this column are some indexes and databases that are also relevant to chemistry.  The boxes below provide more information on each resource.

PubMed

Developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) at the National Library of Medicine (NLM), PubMed includes more than 30 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed’s primary focus is biomedicine and health sciences, but it also includes related fields such as life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering.

Although it contains only citations and abstracts, PubMed does provide links to free full-text content in PubMed Central, the NCBI Bookshelf, and NCBI's Entrez (an integrated molecular biology database). For Rutgers affiliates, the Get it @ R button can be used to link to full-text articles and books through Rutgers University Libraries.

Coverage dates: 1946-present

Toxicology Abstracts

Specifically put together for toxicologists, this ProQuest "Environmental Sciences & Pollution Management" subfile covers issues from social poisons and substance abuse to natural toxins, from legislation and recommended standards to environmental issues. It surveys the literature for toxicology studies of industrial and agricultural chemicals, household products, pharmaceuticals, and a myriad of other substances. Each issue publishes information concerning the in vivo effects of toxic substances. Approximately 300 serials are monitored for inclusion in this database.  Coverage dates: 1981-present

ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect contains over 25% of the world's science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.  More than 2,500 journals are available on ScienceDirect and Rutgers University Libraries subscribe to over 1,500 of these titles.

Web of Science

Web of Science indexes leading scholarly journals, books, proceedings, and other formats. The heart of the platform is the Web of Science Core Collection, which indexes over 20,000 scholarly journals and includes over 1 billion cited references. The Collection includes Science Citation Index, Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index, among others, with coverage strongest in the sciences. This index can be used to demonstrate the impact of particular articles and authors.  Coverage dates: 1900-present

Scopus

Scopus is a citation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature that can be used by researchers to determine the impact of specific authors, articles/documents, and journals. It contains over 50 million records in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities, with coverage strongest in the physical sciences (7,200+ titles). More than 25,000 titles (including open access journals) from around the world are covered in Scopus.  Patents in Scopus come from five patent offices: US Patent & Trademark Office, European Patent Office, Japan Patent Office, World Intellectual Property Organization and the UK Intellectual Property Office.

Connect to Scopus

Access is restricted to the Rutgers community.

Help with Scopus

Scroll down to Tutorials for help with searching Scopus.

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, an equal access/equal opportunity institution. Individuals with disabilities are encouraged to direct suggestions, comments, or complaints concerning any accessibility issues with Rutgers web sites to: accessibility@rutgers.edu or complete the Report Accessibility Barrier / Provide Feedback Form.